Frank Dupree

Winner of the 2018 Opus Klassik Award for Piano Concerto Recording of the Year (20th/21st century), German pianist Frank Dupree recently came to international attention as the laureate prize winner of the 2014 Deutscher Musikwettbewerb.

Initially trained as a jazz percussionist, Frank celebrates the breadth and depth of the piano repertoire, with a particular enthusiasm for the music of the 20th century as well as the music of living composers, having already been chosen to work closely with Péter Eötvös and Wolfgang Rihm.

Frank Dupree has appeared as a soloist with numerous orchestras at home and abroad. Recitals and chamber music also play an important role in Frank's musical ethos, and he has frequently collaborated with Simon Höfele, Edgar Moreau, Daniel Lozakovich, Timothy Ridout, and the Calidore and Goldmund string quartets, giving concerts at such places as the Auditorium du Louvre in Paris and Konzerthaus Berlin as well as at international festivals.

Combining his fine musicianship with the art of direction, Frank was awarded first prize at the 2012 International Hans-von-Bülow Competition in Meiningen for his play/direct work with Beethoven, and was soon after invited to take part in the Orchestre de Chambre de Paris Play-Direct Academy. On the podium, Frank has previously assisted Sir Simon Rattle, François-Xavier Roth, and Mario Venzago.

A Steinway Artist, Frank has been a student of Sontraud Speidel since the age of five and recently completed his studies at the Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe. Over the years, he has played in masterclasses with Emanuel Ax, Klaus Hellwig, Cyprien Katsaris, Ferenc Rados, Menahem Pressler and others. In Summer 2013, Frank was awarded the Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes scholarship and, in 2014, was the receipient of the Deutschen Stiftung Musikleben scholarship in support of his studies.

Frank Dupree beim Beethovenfest






8:00 pm

Trumpet on a world tour

  • Simon Höfele trumpet
  • Frank Dupree piano
Works by Vassily Brandt, George Enescu, Claude Debussy, Théo Charlier, George Antheil and George Gershwin
Burg Namedy