City of Bonn

panorama Stadt Bonn © Michael Sondermann

As a shareholder in the Beethovenfest Bonn, the city has a two-thirds interest in the non-profit private limited company, with Deutsche Welle holding the other third. The Mayor of Bonn, Ashok-Alexander Sridharan also chairs the supervisory board of Internationale Beethovenfeste Bonn gGmbH.

Bonn is the city where Beethoven was born. Many areas in Bonn still hold memories of probably the most famous composer in the world. Ernst Julius Hähnel’s monument to Beethoven, which was unveiled on the occasion of the 75th anniversary of the composer’s birth in 1845, stands in Bonn's Münsterplatz. The first Beethovenfest, a three-day music festival organized by Franz Liszt, also took place to mark the occasion. The Beethoven-Haus, the house in Rheingasse where Beethoven’s family lived, Schlosskirche, the old cemetery and “La Redoute” in Bonn-Bad Godesberg all still hold memories of Beethoven’s life in Bonn.

During the Beethovenfest, Bonn well and truly becomes the city of Beethoven. The composer is everywhere to be seen - in shop windows and on banners, flags and posters. But, of course, his presence is also felt musically. Beethovenfest concerts are held in many different venues in Bonn and its surroundings: In the Beethovenhalle and in the chamber music hall of the Beethoven-Haus, but also in churches, in musea and historic industrial buildings as the tram depot in Dransdorf. Moreover a number of politically important sites in Bonn, the former capital, are used as concert venues, among them the Palais Schaumburg – the former Federal Chancellery –, the Villa Hammerschmidt - the Bonn seat of the President of the Federal Republic of Germany - and one of the former debating chambers of the Bundestag. In 2010 the Beethovenfest had a concert in the chancellor bungalow for the first time. Also buildings of global players as Telekom and Deutsche Post are used as venues: the Telekom-Forum and the Post Tower Lounge.

Stadt Bonn

Panorama Stadt Bonn © Michael Sondermann

Die Stadt als Gesellschafterin des Beethovenfestes Bonn hält zwei Drittel an der gemeinnützigen GmbH, die Deutsche Welle ein Drittel. Der Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Bonn, Ashok-Alexander Sridharan, ist damit zugleich Aufsichtsratvorsitzender der Internationalen Beethovenfeste Bonn gGmbH.

Bonn ist Beethovens Geburtsstadt. An vielen Orten in Bonn wird an den wohl weltweit bekanntesten Komponisten noch heute erinnert. Auf dem Bonner Münsterplatz steht das Beethoven-Denkmal von Ernst Julius Hähnel, das zum 75. Geburtstag des Komponisten 1845 enthüllt wurde. Zu diesem Anlass fand auch das erste Beethovenfest statt: ein dreitägiges Musikfest unter der Leitung von Franz Liszt. Auch das Beethoven-Haus, das Haus in der Rheingasse, in dem Beethovens Familie wohnte, die Schlosskirche, der alte Friedhof und »La Redoute« in Bonn-Bad Godesberg erinnern an Beethovens Lebzeiten in Bonn.

Während des Beethovenfestes wird ganz Bonn zur Beethovenstadt: überall ist der Komponist optisch präsent: in den Schaufenstern der Einzelhändler, auf Transparenten, Fahnen, Plakaten, und insbesondere musikalisch. Die Konzerte des Beethovenfestes finden an vielen verschiedenen Orten in Bonn und der Umgebung statt: in der Beethovenhalle und im Kammermusiksaal des Beethoven-Hauses, aber auch in Kirchen, in den Ausstellungsräumen der Museen der Museumsmeile Bonn und historischen Industriebauten wie der Straßenbahnhalle Dransdorf. Auch politische Orte der ehemaligen Bundeshauptstadt Bonn werden zu Spielstätten: der frühere Plenarsaal des Bundestages, das Alte Wasserwerk, das Grandhotel auf dem Petersberg, auf dem wichtige Staatsgäste zusammen fanden und wegweisende politische Beschlüsse gefasst wurden, der ehemalige Kanzlersitz, das Palais Schaumburg, die Villa Hammerschmidt als zweiter Amtssitz des Bundespräsidenten und beim Beethovenfest Bonn 2010 erstmals der Kanzlerbungalow. Sitze heutiger globaler Entscheidungsträger werden ebenfalls zu Konzertsälen im Beethovenfest, wie das Telekom Forum und die Post Tower Lounge.