Sightseeing
in Bonn & Umgebung

Bonn and its environment is an ideal destination for travellers interested in culture, nature and culinary delights. Below we have listed a few suggestions for your visit to Beethoven’s place of birth. Several hotels offer special Beethoven packages for the duration of the Festival. For full-coverage service in accommodation and sightseeing, please contact Tourismus & Congress GmbH Bonn/Rhein-Sieg/Ahrweiler, with whom we work closely together. Those who want to look for a hotel now, please click here.

Below you will find more ideas of "travel modules" in conjunction with a visit to the Beethovenfest Bonn:

Beethoven-Haus Fassade © Michael Sondermann

Experiencing Beethoven

The Beethoven Birth House holds the world's largest collection of Beethoven memorabilia, from more than 1,000 autograph scores and the composer's own viola all the way to his ear trumpets. In December 2004 the "Digital Beethoven House" was opened: museum visitors can now embark on an interactive journey of discovery through Beethoven's legacy and plunge into an audio-visual experience of his music. Why not combine a visit to this historic yet modern site with a tour through Beethoven’s Bonn? The tour includes the tavern that Beethoven frequented as a young man, the church where he played the organ, and the Neoclassical Redoute where he played for Haydn. Individualists can strike out on their own paths: With its interesting information and stories accompanied by wonderful music and illustrations with ancient and new pictures of the city the itour guide makes your Bonn visit become very special. For a small fee, you can hire it from the Bonn Information Office.

City tours:
Bonn Information,
+49-(0)228-775000,
bonninformation@bonn.de

Beethoven-Haus guided tours:
museum@beethoven-haus-bonn.de,
+49-(0)228-98175-25 (Answering machine)

Further information:
www.beethoven-haus-bonn.de, www.bonn.de

Bundeskunsthalle roofgarden © Tourismus & Congress GmbH

Bonn and its museums

2.5 million People visit Bonn's museum district every year, making it one of the most popular attractions in Germany. You can find the Art and Exhibition Hall here as well as the Museum of Art and the Haus der Geschichte – the museum of post-war German history, along with other significant sights such as the August Macke House and the Ernst Moritz Arndt House. Some of the museums serve as concert halls during the Beethovenfest Bonn or show exhibitions in co-operation with the festival.

Group tours:
+49-(0)180-1000166,
fuehrung@kah-bonn.de

Contact for Travel agents:
Axel Thiele, +49-(0)228-9171201,
info@kah-bonn.de


Haus der Geschichte visitors’ service:

+49-(0)228-9165-400,

Further information:
www.bundeskunsthalle.de, www.hdg.de

Drachenfels mit Rheinschiff © Michael Sondermann

The romantic Rhine

Bonn, the Siebengebirge hills, and the Ahr Valley abound in natural wonders. One can take a romantic boat trip down the Rhine from Bonn to Königswinter, ride to Drachenfels Castle on the oldest crack-and-pinion railway in Germany, or explore the Ahr Valley while taking a walk through the vineyards on the Red Wine Hiking Trail (“Rotweinwanderweg”).

Wasserwerk © Frank Fremery

Bonn and modern German history

Bonn veritably confronts its visitors with modern German history; Bonn was the capital of the Federal Republic of Germany until 1990, and since the move of the Parliament to Berlin, the city has been an important location for international firms and organizations (e.g the UN). The Adenauer House, the Bundestag deebating chamber and the Waterworks Building as well as the Grandhotel Petersberg bear witness to Bonn's political past. Visitors can experience everyday life in post-war Germany in the Haus der Geschichte and reconstruct Bonn’s political history and the way to German democracy after 1945.

Tours of the Palace and the House of History:
Helena von Wersebe,
+49-(0)228-9165212,
wersebe@hdg.de

City tours:
Bonninformation,
+49-(0)228-775000,
bonninformation@bonn.de

Further information:
www.hdg.de, www.bonn.de

Kölner Dom © Jürgen Christ

Four sites on the UNESCO World Heritage list

Four destinations within an hour’s drive of Bonn are UNESCO World Heritage sites: Cologne Cathedral, Aachen Cathedral with Charlemagne’s palace chapel, the rococo palaces of Augustusburg and Falkenlust in Brühl with their magnificent grounds, and the Upper Middle Rhine Valley with its castles and palaces from Koblenz and Loreley to Rüdesheim.

UNESCO travel routes:
business offices,
UNESCO World Heritage,
+49-(0)3946-811253, 
info@unesco-welterbe.de

Further information:
www.unesco-welterbe.de

Orgel Madison Overture Hall USA © Bob Rashid

Bonn, the city of music - and home to the queen of instruments

Klais organs can be heard in cathedrals and concert halls from Cologne to Kyoto. Founded in 1882, this family firm is one of the most renowned organ building companies in the world. A tour through its works will show you where and how these mighty instruments originate - you can savour the wood and feel the metal.

Group tours are given on Fridays and Saturdays for a maximum of 25 people.

Contact:
+49-(0)228-98240-0,
mail@klais.de

Further Information:
www.klais.de

Sehenswürdigkeiten
in Bonn & Umgebung

Bonn und die Region sind ideale Ziele für den kulturinteressierten, natur- und genussorientierten Reisenden! Wir haben hier für Sie einige Anregungen zusammengestellt, wie Sie einen Besuch in der Beethovenstadt gestalten können. Einige Hotels in Bonn bieten zum Festival spezielle Beethoven-Arrangements an. Umfassenden Service bei Fragen zu Unterkunft und touristischem Angebot bietet Ihnen die Tourismus & Congress GmbH Bonn/Rhein-Sieg/Ahrweiler, mit der uns eine enge Kooperation verbindet. Wer sich sofort auf Hotelsuche begeben möchte, kann das an dieser Stelle tun.

Hier finden Sie aber schon einmal einige »Reisebausteine« rund um eine Fahrt zum Beethovenfest:

Beethoven-Haus Fassade © Michael Sondermann

Beethoven erleben

Das Geburtshaus Beethovens birgt die größte Beethovensammlung der Welt, von den über 1.000 Originalhandschriften über die Bratsche des Komponisten bis hin zu seinen Hörrohren. Im »Digitalen Beethoven-Haus« können sich die Museumsbesucher auf eine interaktive Entdeckungsreise durch den Nachlass Beethovens begeben und in ein audiovisuelles Kunsterlebnis eintauchen. Verbinden Sie einen Besuch dieser ebenso historischen wie zeitgemäßen Stätte mit einer Stadtführung auf Beethovens Spuren. Stationen sind u. a. das Gasthaus, in dem der junge Beethoven einkehrte, die Kirche, in welcher Beethoven auf der Orgel spielte, oder die klassizistische »Redoute«, in der Beethoven vor Haydn musizierte. Individualisten können sich auch selbständig auf den Weg machen: Der »iTour Guide« sorgt mit interessanten Informationen und Geschichten für einen ganz besonderen Bonn-Besuch, untermalt von schöner Musik und illustriert mit alten und neuen Bildern der Stadt. Er wird gegen eine geringe Gebühr in der Bonn Information verliehen.

Stadtführungen:
Bonn Information,
+49-(0)228-775000,
bonninformation@bonn.de

Beethoven-Haus Führung:
museum@beethoven-haus-bonn.de,
+49-(0)228-98175-25 (Anrufbeantworter)

Weitere Information:
www.beethoven-haus-bonn.de, www.bonn.de

Bundeskunsthalle Dachgarten © Tourismus & Congress GmbH

Museumsstadt Bonn

2,5 Millionen Menschen besuchen jährlich die Bonner Museumsmeile, die damit zu den meistbesuchten Attraktionen in Deutschland gehört: Hier befinden sich die Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, das auch architektonisch herausragende Kunstmuseum, das Haus der Geschichte und andere bedeutende Orte wie das August-Macke-Haus oder das Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-Haus. Gleichzeitig sind einige der Museen Spielstätte des Beethovenfestes oder präsentieren Ausstellungen in Kooperation mit dem Festival.

Bundeskunsthalle Gruppenführungen:
+49-(0)180-1000166,
fuehrung@kah-bonn.de

Kontakt Reiseveranstalter:
Axel Thiele,
+49-(0)228-9171201,
info@kah-bonn.de

Haus der Geschichte Besucherdienst:

+49-(0)228-9165-400

Weitere Information:
www.bundeskunsthalle.de, www.hdg.de

Drachenfels mit Rheinschiff © Michael Sondermann

Der romantische Rhein

Bonn, das Siebengebirge und das Ahrtal bieten zahlreiche Naturerlebnisse: Unternehmen Sie eine romantische Schifffahrt von Bonn nach Königswinter und fahren Sie mit der ältesten Zahnradbahn Deutschlands auf den Drachenfels. Wanderer finden auf dem neuen »Rheinsteig« reizvolle Wege mit Aussicht auf den Rhein oder erkunden auf dem Rotweinwanderweg das Ahrtal. Fahrradfahrer werden auf verschiedenen Rundrouten wie dem »Erlebnisweg Rheinschiene« oder der »Wasserburgenroute« von Bonn aus in die bezaubernde Umgebung geführt.

Wasserwerk © Frank Fremery

Das politische Bonn

In Bonn wird Zeitgeschichte erlebbar, vom Beginn der Bonner Republik bis zum Umzug des Bundestags nach Berlin und der Entfaltung Bonns als Zentrum für internationale Zusammenarbeit. Das Adenauerhaus, der Plenarsaal und das Wasserwerk sowie das Grandhotel Petersberg sind Zeugen der Vergangenheit Bonns als Bundeshauptstadt und im »Haus der Geschichte der Bundesrepublik Deutschland« wird der Alltag der Jahre seit Kriegsende lebendig und erfahrbar. Wandeln Sie auf »dem Weg der Demokratie« auf den Spuren der Geschichte des politischen Bonns.
Heute, nach dem Umzug des Bundestags nach Berlin, ist Bonn Sitz zahlreicher Bundes- und UN-Behörden sowie großer Arbeitgeber.

Führungen Palais Schaumburg/Haus der Geschichte:
Helena von Wersebe,
+49-(0)228-9165212,
wersebe@hdg.de

Stadtführungen:
Bonninformation, 
+49-(0)228-775000,
bonninformation@bonn.de

Weitere Information:
www.hdg.de, www.bonn.de

Kölner Dom © Jürgen Christ

Vier mal UNESCO - Welterbe

Zum UNESCO-Welterbe gehören vier Destinationen, die alle von Bonn aus mit dem Auto binnen einer Stunde zu erreichen sind: Der Kölner Dom, der Kaiserdom zu Aachen mit der Pfalzkapelle von Karl dem Großen, Brühl mit den Rokoko-Schlössern Augustusburg und Falkenlust inmitten herrlicher Gartenanlagen sowie das Obere Mittelrheintal mit seinen Burgen und Schlössern. Diese Sehenswürdigkeiten sind ein Highlight für jede Kulturreise.

Reiserouten Geschäftsstelle UNESCO-Welterbe:
+49-(0)3946-811253,
info@unesco-welterbe.de

Weitere Information:
www.unesco-welterbe.de

Orgel Madison Overture Hall USA © Bob Rashid

Die weltbekannte Orgelbauwerkstatt

Instrumente von Orgelbau Klais in Bonn erklingen in Kathedralen und Konzertsälen von Köln bis Kyoto. Das 1882 gegründete Familienunternehmen in der Beethovenstadt gehört zu den weltweit renommiertesten Orgelbauwerkstätten. Bei einer Führung durch den Betrieb sehen Sie, wo und wie diese mächtigen Instrumente entstehen: Riechen Sie das Holz und fühlen Sie das Metall.

Gruppenführungen freitags und samstags zu max. 25 Personen.

Anmeldung:
+49-(0)228 98240-0,
mail@klais.de

Weitere
Information:
www.klais.de