Points of focus 2017

Paths to Beethoven

Beethoven’s symphonies, concertos and chamber music form the heart of our programme. Often his music hovers in the background as a source of inspiration or is heard in other forms and guises. An exciting treasure hunt!

Foto: Michael Sondermann, Bundesstadt Bonn

The Art of the Lied

Lieder, German art song, is the most intimate genre of chamber music. Here music and lyric poetry unite to speak of love and sorrow, nature and longing. At the centre is Beethoven‘s song cycle An die ferne Geliebte. But we will also hear love songs by other composers: there‘s no doing without Schumann, Brahms and Hugo Wolf. Even contemporary composers will have their say ...

Foto: Michael Sondermann, Bundesstadt Bonn

String quartet weekend

Because late Beethoven remains unusual and ‘modern‘, we will combine his five late string quartets with early modern classics and two world premières. They will be played by outstanding young artists and established ensembles, including the Quatuor Diotima, whose interpretation of Luigi Nono‘s music on Friedrich Hölderlin‘s ‘distant beloved‘ has become legendary.

Foto: Fotoatelier Hermann und Clärchen Baus

Original sound

What did it really sound like ‘back then‘? The enthusiasm for ‘authentic‘ sounds and performance techniques remains unabated, and our listening habits have changed. ‘Original sound‘ conveys freshness, esprit and lucidity, from the pre-classical period all the way to late romanticism. Also including an original programme from the days of Old Vienna: pure, unadulterated Beethoven!

Foto: Marco Borggreve

Dance / performance

Beethoven is timeless, while the art of our own time has brought forth new forms of dance and performance. How do these two things fit together? What happens when three of the most famous choreographers of our day set their sights on Beethoven‘s Grosse Fugue? His ‘Ghost‘ Trio, too, will be refracted through a present-day prism. And at some point Iannis Xenakis’ stunning percussion piece Pléïades must be rediscovered for the dance – with Graeco-French precision and elegance.

Foto: Michael Cavalca

Open air / jazz / crossover

In politics, Europe is struggling to maintain its progressive achievements: its open borders. Music has an easier go of it, for the borders vanished long ago. Now a PIANODROM can change our perception and musical genres can blend together. Whether Afro-American folk music, jazz, or a dalliance with Musicbanda from East Tyrol: anything goes, provided it‘s done well. There will even be a nod to that great border-crosser Beethoven: the Ninth, conducted by Herbert von Karajan on a giant screen.

Foto: Barbara Frommann

Schwerpunkte 2017

Wege zu Beethoven

Die Symphonien und Konzerte sowie die Kammermusik Ludwig van Beethovens bilden die Herzstücke in unserem Programm. Oft geistert seine Musik auch als inspirierendes Moment herum oder sie erklingt in verschiedenen Fassungen und Formen. Eine spannende Spurensuche!

Foto: Michael Sondermann, Bundesstadt Bonn

Liedkunst

Das Lied ist die intimste Gattung der Kammermusik. Hier verbünden sich Lyrik und Musik, um von Liebe und Leid, Natur und Sehnsucht zu erzählen. Im Mittelpunkt steht Beethovens Liederzyklus »An die ferne Geliebte«. Aber auch die Liebeslieder anderer Komponisten erklingen – ohne Schubert und Schumann, Brahms und Hugo Wolf geht es nicht. Und auch die Zeitgenossen intervenieren ...

Foto: Michael Sondermann, Bundesstadt Bonn

Streichquartett-Wochenende

Später Beethoven und frühe Moderne. Der späte Beethoven bleibt ungewöhnlich, bleibt »modern«. Also kombinieren wir seine fünf späten Streichquartette mit Werken der frühen Moderne und mit zwei Uraufführungen. Es spielen herausragende junge und bereits etablierte Ensembles, darunter das Quatuor Diotima, deren Interpretation von Luigi Nonos Musik auf die »ferne Geliebte« von Friedrich Hölderlin legendär geworden ist.

Foto: Fotoatelier Hermann und Clärchen Baus

Originalklang

Wie hat es »damals« wirklich geklungen? Die Begeisterung über den »authentischen« Klang, die »authentischen« Spielweisen hält an, unsere Hörgewohnheiten haben sich verändert. Der »Originalklang« vermittelt Frische, Tempo und Transparenz – von der Vorklassik bis in die Spätromantik. Darunter auch ein Original-Programm aus Alt-Wiener Zeiten: Beethoven pur.

Foto: Marco Borggreve

Tanz / Performance

Beethoven ist zeitlose Gegenwart. Die Kunst der Gegenwart hat tänzerische und performative Formen entwickelt. Wie passt das zusammen? Was geschieht, wenn sich drei der berühmtesten  Choreographinnen unserer Zeit Beethovens »Große Fuge« vornehmen? Auch Beethovens »Geistertrio« wird durch das Sensorium der Gegenwart getrieben. Und das fulminante Schlagzeug-Werk »Pleïades«  von Iannis Xenakis musste irgendwann für den Tanz wiederentdeckt werden – französisch-griechische Präzision und Eleganz ...

Foto: Michael Cavalca

Open Air / Jazz / Crossover

Das politische Europa kämpft um seine fortschrittlichen Errungenschaften: die offenen Grenzen. Die Musik hat es da leichter, Grenzen gibt es längst nicht mehr. Hier verändert ein PIANODROM unsere Wahrnehmung von außen und innen, dort mischen sich die musikalischen Genres: Afroamerikanische Folk Music, Jazz oder das Fremdgehen einer Osttiroler Musicbanda – alles geht, vorausgesetzt, man »kann« es. Hinzu kommt eine Verbeugung vor dem Grenzen sprengenden Beethoven am Eröffnungswochenende: die Neunte unter Herbert von Karajan auf Großleinwand.

Foto: Barbara Frommann