Motto - "Music for the Future"

In the year that marks the bicentenary of Liszt’s birth, the Beethovenfest Bonn looked back on its long tradition and connexion with the composer, for it was in 1845 that Franz Liszt organized a music festival on the occasion of the dedication of the Beethoven Memorial on the Münsterplatz in Bonn, which itself coincided with what would have been Beethoven’s 75th birthday. The Beethovenfest Bonn 2011, with its motto "Music for the Future. Beethoven, Liszt and Innovation in Music" presented Liszt as a personality, virtuoso, visionary, patron and composer who revered Beethoven, and on this basis developed his own "music for the future", whose echo resounded until well into the 20th century.
We honored Liszt the composer with a Liszt Night: ten concerts at five different venues; and Liszt the patron by reconstructing the second concert of his 1845 Beethoven Festival, with Concerto Köln conducted by Ivor Bolton. We should note that Liszt had a concert hall built specially for this first Beethoven Festival: this must be our benchmark at the latest when we come to celebrate the 250th anniversary of Beethoven’s birth in 2020!

With Anne-Sophie Mutter, Hélène Grimaud, Zubin Mehta and the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, Manfred Honeck and the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, Sir John Eliot Gardiner and Sir Colin Davis with the London Symphony Orchestra, Riccardo Chailly and the Gewandhausorchester and with Paavo Järvi and the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen as "orchestra in residence", we put together an outstanding programme. A further climax awaited our guests at the Orchestra Campus organized by Deutsche Welle together with the Beethovenfest: the National Youth Orchestra of Iraq, which performed outside its homeland for the first time.

I should like to take this opportunity to thank all the supporters, sponsors and foundations as well as our patron, state premier Hannelore Kraft, for the confidence they have shown and for the great support they have provided in 2011.

Ilona Schmiel
Director of the Beethovenfest Bonn

Bonn, March 2011

Motto »Zukunftsmusik«

Im Liszt-Jahr blickte das Beethovenfest Bonn auf seine lange Tradition zurück: 1845 organisierte Franz Liszt zur Einweihung des Beethoven-Denkmals auf dem Münsterplatz anlässlich des 75. Geburtstags des Komponisten ein dreitägiges Musikfest. Das Beethovenfest Bonn 2011 stellte unter dem Motto »ZUKUNFTSMUSIK. Beethoven, Liszt und das Neue in der Musik« Liszt als Persönlichkeit, Virtuosen, Visionär, Mäzen und Komponisten vor, der Beethoven verehrte und davon ausgehend seine eigene »Zukunftsmusik« entwickelte, die bis weit ins 20. Jahrhundert nachwirkte.
Den Komponisten Liszt würdigten wir in einer Liszt-Nacht mit zehn Konzerten an fünf Spielorten, den Mäzen und Visionär Liszt, indem wir das zweite Konzert des von ihm initiierten Beethovenfestes 1845 mit Concerto Köln unter der Leitung von Ivor Bolton präsentierten. Für dieses Beethovenfest ließ Liszt eigens einen Konzertsaal bauen, um Beethovens Geburtstag angemessen zu feiern – daran sollten wir uns spätestens zu Beethovens 250. Geburtstag im Jahr 2020 messen lassen!
Mit Anne-Sophie Mutter, Hélène Grimaud, Zubin Mehta und dem Israel Philharmonic Orchestra,  Manfred Honeck und dem Pittsburgh Symphony  Orchestra, Sir John Eliot Gardiner sowie Sir Colin Davis und dem London Symphony Orchestra,  Riccardo Chailly und dem Gewandhausorchester, Paavo Järvi und Der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen als »Orchestra in Residence« sowie Iván Fischer und dem Budapest Festival Orchestra wurden herausragende Programme entwickelt. Ein weiterer Höhepunkt erwartete die Besucher beim Orchestercampus von Deutscher Welle und Beethovenfest mit dem National Youth Orchestra of Iraq, das erstmals außerhalb seines Landes auftrat.
Ich danke allen Förderern, Sponsoren und Stiftungen sowie unserer Schirmherrin, Ministerpräsidentin Hannelore Kraft, für das entgegengebrachte Vertrauen und ihre großartige Unterstützung im Jahr 2011!

Ihre Ilona Schmiel
Intendantin des Beethovenfestes Bonn

Bonn, März 2011