Ludwig van Beethoven Biography

Ludwig van Beethoven was probably born on 16 December 1770 in Bonn, the son of a musical family; he was certainly baptized on 17 December 1770. His father Johann van Beethoven was a tenor at the court chapel in Bonn of the Elector-Archbishop of Cologne; his grandfather Ludwig van Beethoven had been Kapellmeister or head of music at the court in Bonn. In 1781 the young Ludwig van Beethoven became a pupil of the court organist Christian Gottlob Neefe, becoming his master-pupil in just a few months, and standing in for his master on the organ when the latter was absent or indisposed. In 1783 he started playing the viola and harpsichord in the electoral orchestra, and that same year his first three piano sonatas were published. In the March issue of the Magazin der Musik Neefe praised him as a second Mozart, thus drawing attention to Beethoven’s talent at an early date.

First journey to Vienna
Neefe gave Beethoven both artistic and human encouragement. It was probably on his recommendation that Ludwig van Beethoven had a trip to Vienna in 1787 paid for by the Elector-Archbishop. Here he received further musical education at the hands of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. The news of the terminal illness of his mother brought him back to Bonn within a few weeks, however. After her death, Beethoven became the family breadwinner.

Beethoven’s teachers
Only a year after Mozart’s death, in 1792, Beethoven went back to Vienna and remained there till the end of his life. On the recommendation of Count Ferdinand von Waldstein, Beethoven was taken up by the city’s aristocratic society. He now became a master-pupil of Haydn, as had been agreed at a personal meeting between Beethoven and Haydn at “La Redoute” in the resort of Bad Godesberg near Bonn. Until Haydn left for London at the start of 1794, Beethoven studied composition theory under him, and afterwards took instruction in counterpoint from Albrechtsberger, having already started studying Italian vocal composition concurrently under Antonio Salieri in 1792. In 1795 Beethoven first started performing his own piano compositions in the houses of the nobility. Within a short time he had built up a major reputation, and with the support of his patrons, he was able to work as a freelance composer.

Beethoven’s patrons
As Opus 1 he published three piano trios dedicated to Prince Karl Lichnowsky, in whose house he lived for at least two years. Beethoven was also close friends with Count Franz von Brunswik, while further benefactors included the Russian ambassador to the Viennese court, Count Rasumovsky, Prince Lobkowitz, Prince Esterházy and Archduke Rudolph, who studied composition under him and for whom he wrote the Missa solemnis op. 123.

Beethoven’s deafness
It was in 1795 that the first signs of progressive hearing loss became apparent. This made him more and more of a loner. By 1808 he was seriously hard of hearing, and in 1819 became totally deaf. In 1802 he wrote his “Heiligenstädter Testament”, a farewell letter to his brothers, a heartrending document of his helplessness in the face of his physical and psychological condition. From 1808 Beethoven gave no more public concerts. In the following years, communication with Beethoven was only possible in writing. His conversation books, which are still extant, provide a tragic idea of the feelings of a lonely human being and genius.

Even so, he managed to remain active as a composer to the end of his life. Ludwig van Beethoven died as a recluse in Vienna on 26 March 1827 at the age of 57. His funeral in Währingen three days later was attended by thousands, who heard a eulogy composed by the writer Franz Grillpartzer. In 1888 his remains were transferred to a grave of honour in Vienna’s central cemetery.

Ludwig van Beethoven was a revolutionary, a visionary and a cosmopolitan. He is regarded as one of those who brought Viennese classicism to a consummation. His most important works include the nine symphonies, the five piano concertos, the violin concerto, the 16 string quartets, 32 piano sonatas, the opera “Fidelio”, the Mass op. 86 in C major, and the Missa solemnis op. 123. Ludwig van Beethoven is one of the world’s most-performed composers; his works are known and loved worldwide.

Beethoven Bonnensis © Barbara Frommann

Ludwig van Beethoven Kurzbiografie

Ludwig van Beethoven wurde wahrscheinlich am 16. Dezember 1770 in Bonn als Sohn einer Musikerfamilie geboren, getauft wurde er am 17. Dezember 1770. Sein Vater Johann van Beethoven war Tenorist an der kurfürstlichen Hofkapelle in Bonn, sein Großvater Ludwig van Beethoven Hofkapellmeister in Bonn. Im Jahr 1781 wurde Ludwig van Beethoven Schüler des Hoforganisten Christian Gottlob Neefe und bereits nach wenigen Monaten wurde er sein Meisterschüler und vertrat Neefe amtlich an der Orgel, wenn dieser verhindert war. Ab 1783 spielte er als Bratschist und Cembalist im kurfürstlichen Orchester. Bereits 1783 waren auch schon Beethovens erste drei Klaviersonaten im Druck erschienen. Neefe lobte ihn in der März-Ausgabe des »Magazin der Musik« als einen zweiten Mozart und lenkte damit schon früh die Aufmerksamkeit auf Beethovens Begabung.

Erste Reise nach Wien
Neefe förderte Beethoven künstlerisch und menschlich. Vermutlich auf seine Fürsprache hin erhielt Ludwig van Beethoven 1787 auf Einladung des Kurfürsten eine Reise nach Wien finanziert. Hier wurde er als Schüler von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart weiter ausgebildet. Die Nachricht von der tödlichen Erkrankung seiner Mutter ließ ihn jedoch nach einigen Wochen wieder nach Bonn zurückkehren. Beethoven übernahm nach dem Tod seiner Mutter die Fürsorge der Familie.

Beethovens Lehrer
Erst ein Jahr nach dem Tod Mozarts, 1792, reiste er erneut nach Wien und blieb dort bis an sein Lebensende. Auf Empfehlung von Graf Ferdinand von Waldstein wurde Beethoven dort in die Adelswelt aufgenommen. Nun wurde er Meisterschüler von Haydn, was bei einer persönlichen Begegnung Beethovens und Haydns in »La Redoute« in Bonn Bad Godesberg verabredet worden war. Bei Haydn studierte er bis zu dessen Abreise nach London Anfang 1794 Kompositionslehre, anschließend erhielt er Kontrapunktunterricht bei Albrechtsberger, nebenher begann er bereits 1792 sein Studium der italienischen Gesangskomposition bei Antonio Salieri. Im Jahr 1795 trat Ludwig van Beethoven erstmals mit eigenen Klavierkompositionen in Häusern der Adelsschicht auf. In kurzer Zeit verdiente er sich höchstes Ansehen und durch die Unterstützung seiner Förderer war es ihm nun möglich, als freier Komponist zu arbeiten.

Beethovens Gönner
Als Opus 1 gab er drei dem Fürsten Karl Lichnowsky gewidmete Klaviertrios heraus, bei dem er auch mindestens zwei Jahre wohnte. Eine enge Freundschaft verband Beethoven mit dem Grafen Franz von Brunswik, weiter Gönner waren der russische Botschafter am Wiener Hof, Graf Rasumowsky, Fürst Lobkowitz, Fürst Esterházy und Erzherzog Rudolph, der sein Kompositionsschüler war und für den er die Missa solemnis op. 123 schrieb.

Beethovens Taubheit
1795 machten sich auch erste Anzeichen einer sich ausweitenden Hörschädigung bemerkbar, die ihn immer mehr zu einem Einzelgänger werden ließ, 1808 zu starker Schwerhörigkeit und schließlich 1819 zu völliger Taubheit führte. Im Jahr 1802 entstand das »Heiligenstädter Testament«, ein Abschiedsbrief an seine Brüder, welcher ein ergreifendes Dokument seiner Hilflosigkeit gegenüber seinem gesundheitlichen und psychischen Zustand darstellt. Ab 1808 gab Beethoven keine öffentlichen Konzerte mehr. In den kommenden Jahren war eine Unterhaltung mit Beethoven nur noch schriftlich möglich. Seine bis heute erhaltenen Konversationshefte geben eine tragische Vorstellung über das Empfinden eines vereinsamten Menschen und Genies.

Der dennoch bis in hohe Alter aktive Komponist Ludwig van Beethoven verstarb im Alter von 57 Jahren zurückgezogen am 26. März 1827 in Wien. Seiner Beerdigung in Währingen drei Tage später wohnten Tausende bei und lauschten der von Franz Grillpartzer verfassten Grabrede. 1888 wurden die Gebeine in ein Ehrengrab auf dem Wiener Zentralfriedhof überführt.

Ludwig van Beethoven war ein Revolutionär, ein Visionär und ein Kosmopolit. Der Komponist zählt zu den Vollendern der Wiener Klassik. Zu seinen wichtigsten Werken gehören: die neun Symphonien, die fünf Klavierkonzerte, das Violinkonzert, die 16 Streichquartette, 32 Klaviersonaten, die Oper »Fidelio« sowie die Messe op. 86 in C-Dur und die Missa solemnis op. 123. Ludwig van Beethoven ist einer der meistaufgeführten Komponisten der Welt, seine Werke sind weltweit bekannt und beliebt.

Beethoven Bonnensis © Barbara Frommann