Artists biographies
Trio Jean Paul

The Trio Jean Paul has existed for more than two decades in an unchanged line-up and is still one of the most sought-after and successful chamber music ensembles. Audiences around the world are enchanted by the elevated ensemble culture, the sensitive aesthetics of its sound and the self-assured musicality of the three musicians.

The ensemble’s decision to name themselves after the author Jean Paul (he was Robert Schumann’s favourite poet) reveals what the musicians care most about in their interpretations: developing the linguistic and rhetorical elements of the music and allowing the audience to hear them.

Engagements have regularly taken the ensemble to some of the world’s most significant concert halls, such as the Vienna Konzerthaus, the Berlin Philharmonie, the Palais des Beaux Arts in Brussels and the Wigmore Hall in London. During their extensive tours they have performed in places such as the United States, Canada, Spain, Italy, the Netherlands, Switzerland and Austria.

One of the ensemble’s focal points is performing the contemporary repertoire, which also includes many world premieres by renowned composers. Wolfgang Rihm dedicated his ‘Trio Concerto’ to the trio, which had its world premiere in the Berlin Philharmonie together with the WDR-Sinfonieorchester, conducted by Jukka-Pekka Saraste in 2014. Further performances with the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, the Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich and the NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover followed.

Several of the trio’s CD productions have won prizes: the recording of Brahms’s trio in B major and Schoenberg’s ‘Verklärte Nacht’ received the ‘Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik’, the recording of the two Menselssohn trios in 2009 and the Schubert trios in 2012 won the ‘Supersonic Award’. In 2015 they released a CD with piano trios by Joseph Haydn. The trio is currently exciting fans with a recording of Brahms’s sextets for strings, adapted for piano trio by the composer’s friend Theodor Kirchner.

Foto: Irène Zandel Foto: Irène Zandel

Appearances at the
Beethovenfest 2017

Künstlerbiographien
Trio Jean Paul

Seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten besteht das Trio Jean Paul in unveränderter Besetzung und gehört auch heute noch zu den gefragtesten und erfolgreichsten Kammermusikensembles. Sein Publikum lässt sich weltweit von der hohen Ensemblekultur, feinfühligen Klangästhetik und stilsicheren Musikalität der drei Musiker verzaubern.

Die Wahl des Schriftstellers Jean Paul als Namenpatrons des Ensembles (er war der Lieblingsdichter von Robert Schumann) verrät, worauf die Musiker in ihren Interpretationen größten Wert legen: die sprachlichen und rhetorischen Elemente der Musik herauszuarbeiten und dem Publikum hörbar zu machen.

Engagements führen das Ensemble regelmäßig in die bedeutenden Konzertsälen der Welt wie das Wiener Konzerthaus, die Berliner Philharmonie, den Palais des Beaux Arts Brüssel und die Wigmore Hall in London. Auf ausgedehnten Tourneen treten sie u. a. in den USA, in Kanada, Spanien, Italien, in den Niederlanden, der Schweiz und in Österreich auf.

Ein Schwerpunkt der Arbeit des Ensembles ist die Aufführung von zeitgenössischem Repertoire, wozu auch zahlreiche Uraufführungen namhafter Komponisten zählen. Wolfgang Rihm widmete dem Trio sein »Trio Concerto«, welches 2014 in der Berliner Philharmonie mit dem WDR-Sinfonieorchester unter der Leitung von Jukka-Pekka Saraste uraufführt wurde. Weitere Aufführungen mit dem Dallas Symphony Orchestra, dem Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich und der NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover folgten.

Zahlreiche CD-Produktionen des Trios wurden mit Preisen ausgezeichnet: Die Aufnahme von Brahms Trio in H-Dur und Schönbergs »Verklärte Nacht« mit dem »Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik«, die Einspielung der beiden Mendelssohn-Trios 2009 und der Schubert-Trios 2012 mit dem »Supersonic-Award«. 2015 erschien ihre CD mit Klaviertrios von Joseph Haydn. Aktuell begeistert das Trio mit einer Aufnahme von Brahms Streichsextetten bearbeitet für Klaviertrio von Brahms‘ Freund Theodor Kirchner.

Foto: Irène Zandel Foto: Irène Zandel

Auftritte beim
Beethovenfest 2017