Artists biographies
Sinfonieorchester Wuppertal

Founded as the Elberfelder Kapelle in 1862, the Wuppertal Symphony Orchestra celebrated its 150th anniversary in 2012. Soloists and conductors such as Clara Schumann, Joseph Joachim, Johannes Brahms and Max Bruch honoured the young orchestra even in its early years. Many conductors started their musical careers in Wuppertal, including Hans Knappertsbusch, Erich Kleiber, Otto Klemperer, Hermann von Schmeidel and Hans Weisbach, who developed his international reputation as a Bruckner specialist in particular.

Between 2004 and 2016 the Wuppertal Symphony Orchestra, now long since a category ‘A’ orchestra, was conducted by musical director Toshiyuki Kamioka. In August 2016 Julia Jones from Britain became the musical director, whereupon which she too started conducting the orchestra.

In addition to its work as an operatic orchestra, the orchestra performs more than 50 concerts in its home venue, the Historische Stadthalle Wuppertal, every season. This gem of Art Nouveau architecture – inaugurated in around 1900 with Richard Strauss conducting – is one of Europe’s most beautiful concert halls and possesses extraordinary acoustics. The orchestra has for a long time demonstrated its outstanding versatility here, presenting a large range of different concert formats and programmes. Since January 2013 the musicians have been part of the Wuppertaler Bühnen und Sinfonieorchester GmbH.

The ensemble from Wuppertal regularly performs in Germany and other countries. In addition to annual guest performances in Milan, the orchestra celebrated successes in sold-out venues in Japan’s biggest cities in 2007 and 2010. In August 2011 the Wuppertal musicians made their debut in the sold-out Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, conducted by Toshiyuki Kamioka.

The Wuppertal Symphony Orchestra’s discography is extensive. They also demonstrate their musical versatility with their film-music recordings. In 2011 for example they recorded the score for the film Tom Sawyer, based on the novel by Mark Twain, which was composed by Andreas Schäfer.

For almost fifteen years now the committed musicians have focused increasingly on the young generation of concertgoers in order to engage them in classical music.

Foto: Dirk Sengotta Foto: Dirk Sengotta

Appearances at the
Beethovenfest 2017

Künstlerbiographien
Sinfonieorchester Wuppertal

1862 als Elberfelder Kapelle gegründet, feierte das Sinfonieorchester Wuppertal im Jahr 2012 sein 150-jähriges Bestehen. Solisten und Dirigenten wie Clara Schumann, Joseph Joachim, Johannes Brahms und Max Bruch gaben dem jungen Orchester schon in frühen Jahren die Ehre. Viele Dirigenten begannen in Wuppertal ihre musikalische Laufbahn – darunter Hans Knappertsbusch, Erich Kleiber, Otto Klemperer, Hermann von Schmeidel und Hans Weisbach, der besonders als Bruckner-Spezialist internationales Ansehen gewann.

Von 2004 bis 2016 stand das inzwischen längst als A-Orchester klassifizierte Sinfonieorchester Wuppertal unter der Leitung von Generalmusikdirektor Toshiyuki Kamioka. Im August 2016 wurde die Britin Julia Jones zur Generalmusikdirektorin ernannt und übernahm die Leitung des Sinfonieorchesters.

Neben der Arbeit als Opernorchester spielt das Sinfonieorchester pro Saison über 50 Konzerte in seiner Heimatspielstätte, der Historischen Stadthalle Wuppertal am Johannisberg. Dieses Glanzstück des Jugendstils – um 1900 unter Leitung von Richard Strauss eingeweiht – gehört zu den schönsten Konzertsälen Europas und verfügt über eine außergewöhnliche Akustik. Das Orchester beweist hier seit Langem in den verschiedensten Konzertformaten und -programmen seine außerordentliche Vielseitigkeit. Seit Januar 2013 sind die Musiker Teil der Wuppertaler Bühnen und Sinfonieorchester GmbH.

Das Wuppertaler Ensemble ist regelmäßig im In- und Ausland zu Gast. Neben jährlichen Gastspielen in Mailand feierte das Orchester sowohl 2007 als auch 2010 Erfolge vor ausverkauften Sälen in den großen Städten Japans. Im August 2011 gaben die Wuppertaler unter der Leitung von Toshiyuki Kamioka ihr Debüt im ausverkauften Amsterdamer Concertgebouw.

Die Diskographie des Sinfonieorchesters Wuppertal ist umfangreich. Musikalische Vielfalt beweist das Sinfonieorchester Wuppertal auch mit den Filmmusikaufnahmen. 2011 spielte es z. B. die Filmmusik des Komponisten Andreas Schäfer zur Literaturverfilmung » Tom Sawyer« nach dem Roman von Mark Twain ein.

Seit nun bereits fast 15 Jahren widmen sich die engagierten Musiker des Sinfonieorchesters Wuppertal verstärkt der jungen Generation von Konzertbesuchern, um diese an klassische Musik heranzuführen.

Foto: Dirk Sengotta Foto: Dirk Sengotta

Auftritte beim
Beethovenfest 2017