Artists biographies
Maguy Marin

The dancer and choreographer Maguy Marin was born in Toulouse. She studied classical ballet at the Toulouse Dance Academy. She subsequently joined first the Strasbourg Dance Company and later the École Mudra, Maurice Béjart’s interdisciplinary school in Brussels.

In 1978 she founded the Ballet-Théâtre de l’Arche together with Daniel Ambash; in 1984 it became the Compagnie Maguy Marin. The Centre Chorégraphique National de Créteil et du Val-de-Marne followed in 1985. Its tireless artistic work spread around the world.

Marin’s meeting with the musician and composer Denis Mariotte in 1987 was the start of a crucial partnership that increased their experimental scope.

1998, a new venue to house a new Centre Chorégraphique National in Rillieuy-la-Pape. In 2011 there was an alteration to the framework in which the Compagnie’s reflections and achievements unfolded. After intensive years in Rillieux-la-Pape, a need for a new phase arose. After three years in Toulouse the Compagnie decided to base itself in the ramdam (Sainte-Foy-lès-Lyon), an old joiner’s workshop that it purchased in 1995 and where the Compagnie developed a new, ambitious project: RAMDAM, an art centre.

Foto: Tim Douet Foto: Tim Douet

Appearances at the
Beethovenfest 2017

Künstlerbiographien
Maguy Marin

Die in Toulouse geborene Tänzerin und Choreografin Maguy Marin studierte klassisches Ballett an der Toulouse Dance Academy. Anschließend trat sie zunächst der Strasbourg Dance Company und später der École Mudra, Maurice Béjarts interdisziplinärer Schule in Brüssel, bei.

1978 gründete sie zusammen mit Daniel Ambash das Ballet-Théâtre de l’Arche, das 1984 zur Compagnie Maguy Marin wurde. Das Centre Chorégraphique National de Créteil et du Val-de-Marne folgte 1985, seine unermüdliche künstlerische Arbeit verbreitete sich weltweit.

Marins Begegnung mit dem Musiker und Komponisten Denis Mariotte 1987 war der Beginn einer entscheidenden Partnerschaft, die den Experimentierspielraum vergrößerte.

1998, ein neuer Ort um sich niederzulassen für ein neues Centre Chorégraphique National in Rillieuy-la-Pape. 2011 erfolgte eine Umgestaltung des Rahmens, in dem sich die Reflexionen und Errungenschaften der Kompagnie entfalteten. Nach den intensiven Jahren in Rillieux-la-Pape, entstand das Bedürfnis nach einer neuen Phase. Nach drei Jahren in Toulouse beschloss die Kompanie, sich im ramdam (Sainte-Foy-lès-Lyon) niederzulassen, einer alten Schreinereiwerkstatt, die sie 1995 kauften und wo die Kompanie ein neues ehrgeiziges Projekt entwickelte: RAMDAM, ein Kunstzentrum.

Foto: Tim Douet Foto: Tim Douet

Auftritte beim
Beethovenfest 2017