Artists biographies
Julian Prégardien

The young German tenor received recently a lot of attention on the operatic stage, concert platform stage as well as in chamber music.

Since 2009 he has been a permanent ensemble member of the Frankfurt Opera. Since then, he has participated in various premieres and revivals on stage. Highlighted are his interpretations as the Novice in Benjamin Britten "Billy Budd", as Tamino in Mozart's "Magic Flute" and – at the side of Anne Sofie von Otter - as Jason in MA Charpentier’s "Medea".

In the 2012/2013 season amongst others he will sing Arbace in Mozart's "Idomeneo", and take the title role in Cavalieri's "Rappresentatione di anima e di corpo". He is also connected to the Festival d'Aix en Provence in a special way: In the summer of 2008 he was a member of the Académie Européenne de Musique, as a consequence, he sang 20 performances of the festival's production of Haydn's "L'infedeltà delusa" in famous opera houses, in the summer of 2012 he returnes for a new production of Mozart's "La Finta Giardiniera" at the festival.

In concerts, Julian Prégardien gained already an excellent reputation mainly as a Bach interpreter. In the spring of 2013, Julian Prégardien will sing the role of Evangelist in Bach's St. Matthew Passion, in a production of the BR-Choir and Concerto Köln. Regular engagements apart from the connection to the two ensembles and the Collegium Vocale Gent are with conductors such as Kent Nagano, Sebastian Weigle and Marcus Creed. His repertoire includes the works of J.S. Bach's sacred works including early Baroque oratorios and the works of Haydn and Mendelssohn.

Invitations to new generation concerts of the Heidelberg Spring, the Menuhin Festival in Gstaad, the Rheingau Music Festival and the Festival Mecklenburg-Vorpommern during the years 2008 to 2010 are the basis for Julian Prégardien’s chamber music work, which has has now resulted in a concert the Cologne Philharmonie and at the Edinburgh Festival and Schwetzingen.

The 1984 Frankfurt-born singer received his musical education at home with his parents and with the Limburg Cathedral Music, as in professional chamber choirs and at the Musikhochschule Freiburg.

Julian Prégardien © Barbara Aumüller Julian Prégardien © Barbara Aumüller

Appearances at the
Beethovenfest 2013

Künstlerbiographien
Julian Prégardien

Der junge deutsche Tenor Julian Prégardien erregt in letzter Zeit auf der Opernbühne, dem Konzertpodium und im Kammermusiksaal gleichermaßen Aufsehen.

Seit 2009 ist er festes Ensemble-Mitglied an der Oper Frankfurt. Seither war er dort in verschiedenen Premieren und Wiederaufnahmen auf der Bühne zu erleben. Hervorgehoben seien seine Interpretationen des Novice in Brittens »Billy Budd«, des Tamino in Mozarts »Zauberflöte« und des Jason in Charpentiers »Medée«.

In der Saison 2012/2013 stehen unter anderem der Arbace in Mozarts »Idomeneo« und die Titelpartie in Cavalieris »Rappresentatione di anima e di corpo« für ihn auf dem Spielplan. Außerdem ist er dem Festival d’Aix en Provence auf besondere Art verbunden: Im Sommer 2008 war er Mitglied der Académie Européenne de Musique; in Folge dessen sang er 20 Vorstellungen der Festival-Produktion von Haydns »L’infedeltà delusa« an internationalen Opernhäusern; im Sommer 2012 kehrt er für eine Neu-Produktion von Mozarts »La Finta Giardiniera« zum Festival zurück.

Im Konzertbereich konnte sich Julian Prégardien vor allem als Bach-Interpret einen Namen machen. Im Frühjahr 2013 ist Julian Prégardien der Evangelist in einer Produktion von Bachs Matthäuspassion mit dem BR-Chor und Concerto Köln. Regelmäßige Engagements verbinden ihn neben diesen beiden Ensembles und dem Collegium Vocale Gent auch mit Dirigenten wie Kent Nagano, Sebastian Weigle und Marcus Creed. Sein Repertoire umfasst neben den geistlichen Werken Bachs unter anderem auch Werke des Frühbarock und die Oratorien Haydns und Mendelssohn.

Einladungen zu den Nachwuchsreihen des Heidelberger Frühlings, des Menuhin-Festivals Gstaad, des Rheingau-Musikfestivals und der Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern in den Jahren 2008 bis 2010 sind die Basis für Julian Prégardiens kammermusikalisches Wirken, das ihn inzwischen schon in die Kölner Philharmonie und zu den Festivals von Edinburgh und Schwetzingen führte.

Seine musikalische Ausbildung erhielt der 1984 in Frankfurt geborene Sänger im Elternhaus und bei der Limburger Dommusik, in professionellen Kammerchören und an der Musikhochschule Freiburg.

Julian Prégardien © Barbara Aumüller Julian Prégardien © Barbara Aumüller

Auftritte beim
Beethovenfest 2013