Artists biographies
Johannes Pell

The young Austrian conductor Johannes Pell was born in Linz in 1982. After being a member of the St. Florianer Sängerknaben (boys’ choir), he studied piano under Horst Matthaeus at the Bruckner-Konservatorium Linz and under Stefan Vladar at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna. Between 2003 and 2005 he at the same time studied to become a choirmaster at the Mozarteum in Salzburg under Karl Kamper.

In 2005 he started studying conducting at the Vienna Konservatorium under Georg Mark. During his studies he was also a répétiteur and assistant at the Theater an der Wien, the Opernfestival Jennersdorf, the Wiener Singakademie, the Salzburger Bachchor and the Wiener Jeunesse Orchester to name but a few. It was in these roles that he worked with conductors such as Bertrand de Billy, Marc Minkowski, Ivor Bolton, Adam Fischer, Philippe Jordan and Andrés Orozco-Estrada.

After obtaining his diploma in conducting in 2009 he was hired by the Theater Erfurt as répétiteur with conducting commitment, which allowed him to conduct several operettas and musicals in his first year. Johannes Pell has been a regular guest conductor at the Leipzig Symphony Orchestra. In 2011 he was nominated in the category ‘newcomer of the year’ by the publication ‘Opernwelt’, while Deutschlandradio Berlin designated him best new conductor of the year 2011.

Between 2011 and 2013 Johannes Pell worked as the second conductor in Erfurt, before becoming the principal conductor at the Bonn Opera. In that role he conducted the premieres of the successful opera ‘Pinocchio’ by Jonathan Dove, as well as Aida, The Magic Flute, Tosca and Hansel and Gretel. In March 2014 he made his debut at the Volksoper Wien and in the 2014/15 season at the Leipzig Opera, where he conducted the legendary Gewandhausorchester. In March 2015 he gave his debut to the Bruchnerorchester in Linz, at the Graz Opera and at the Wuppertal Opera House. During the 2015/16 season Johannes Pell conducted The Merry Widow and Die Fledermaus at the Wiener Volksoper and Madame Pompadour in Bremerhaven, as well as Tosca in St. Gallen; he also conducted symphony concerts in Erfurt, Leipzig and Bonn.

Since the 2016/17 season Johannes Pell has been the principal conductor at the Wuppertaler Bühnen.

Foto: Johannes Pell Foto: Johannes Pell

Appearances at the
Beethovenfest 2017

Künstlerbiographien
Johannes Pell

Der junge österreichische Dirigent Johannes Pell wurde 1982 in Linz geboren. Nach der Mitgliedschaft bei den Florianer Sängerknaben studierte er Klavier bei Horst Matthaeus am Bruckner-Konservatorium Linz und bei Stefan Vladar an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien. Von 2003 bis 2005 studierte er parallel dazu Chordirigieren am Mozarteum Salzburg bei Karl Kamper.

Ab 2005 folgte ein Dirigierstudium am Konservatorium der Stadt Wien bei Georg Mark. Gleichzeitig wirkte er als Korrepetitor und Assistent u. a. am Theater an der Wien, dem Opernfestival Jennersdorf, der Wiener Singakademie, dem Salzburger Bachchor und dem Wiener Jeunesse Orchester. Dabei arbeitete er mit Dirigenten wie Bertrand de Billy, Marc Minkowski, Ivor Bolton, Adam Fischer, Philippe Jordan und Andrés Orozco-Estrada zusammen.

Nach seinem Dirigierdiplom im Jahr 2009 wurde er an das Theater Erfurt als Korrepetitor mit Dirigierverpflichtung engagiert und leitete bereits in seinem ersten Jahr zahlreiche Operetten und Musicals. Seit 2010 ist Johannes Pell regelmäßiger Gastdirigent beim Leipziger Symphonieorchester. 2011 erfolgte eine Nominierung zum »Nachwuchskünstler des Jahres« in der Zeitschrift »Opernwelt«, und Deutschlandradio Berlin ernannte ihn 2011 zum Nachwuchsdirigenten des Jahres.

Von 2011 bis 2013 war Johannes Pell am Erfurter Haus als Zweiter Kapellmeister tätig, anschließend als Erster Kapellmeister an der Oper Bonn. Dort leitete er die Premieren-Produktion der Erfolgsoper »Pinocchio« von Jonathan Dove, außerdem »Aida«, »Die Zauberflöte«, »Tosca« und »Hänsel und Gretel«. Im März 2014 debütierte er an der Volksoper Wien und in der Saison 2014/15 an der Oper Leipzig, wobei er das legendäre Leipziger Gewandhausorchester dirigierte. Im März 2015 gab er sein Debüt beim Brucknerorchester in Linz, an der Oper Graz sowie am Opernhaus Wuppertal. In der Saison 2015/16 dirigierte Johannes Pell an der Wiener Volksoper »Die lustige Witwe« und »Die Fledermaus«, »Madame Pompadour« in Bremerhaven sowie »Tosca« in St. Gallen und leitete Sinfoniekonzerte in Erfurt, Leipzig und Bonn.

Seit der Saison 2016/17 ist Johannes Pell Erster Kapellmeister an den Wuppertaler Bühnen.

Foto: Johannes Pell Foto: Johannes Pell

Auftritte beim
Beethovenfest 2017