Artists biographies
Isabelle van Keulen

Isabelle van Keulen has conquered the entire world from her home in the Netherlands – both on violin and on viola! She is at home on the major concert stages; thanks to her charisma and her diverse musical talents she is one of the most sought-after musicians of our time.

She regularly performs with significant orchestras. They include the Berlin Philharmonic, the Koninklijk Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam, the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, The Tonhalle-Orchester Zurich, the NHK Symphony Orchestra Tokyo, The London Philharmonic Orchestra and the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra. She is a regular guest with leading orchestras in the United States too. She has worked with conductors such as Valery Gergiev, Philippe Herreweghe, Andris Nelsons, Roger Norrington, Hugh Wolff and David Zinman.

As artistic director, Isabelle van Keulen conducted the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra between 2009 and 2012. In addition to many performances in Oslo she took the orchestra on extended concert tours in Europe.

Chamber music also has its place in Isabelle van Keulen’s work. Her steady partners on piano are Ronald Brautigam and Hannes Minnaar, with whom she has produced a recording of all the Beethoven violin sonatas (2014). In addition she gave concerts with the mezzosoprano Christiane Stotijn and the clarinettist Sharon Kam. Between 1997 and 2006 Isabelle van Keulen was the artistic director of the Delft Chamber Music Festival.

Isabelle van Keulen’s repertoire encompasses many works of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, particularly by composers such as Henri Dutilleux, John Adams, Sofia Gubaidulina, Colin Matthews, Lera Auerbach, Brett Dean, and Erkki-Sven Tüür, whose violin concerto she recorded. Her latest recording, featuring Beethoven’s violin concerto in D Major, op. 61, his Romances nos. 1 and 2 for violin and orchestra, and, together with pianist Stefan Vladar and cellist Julian Steckel, the Triple Concerto op. 56, will be released in spring 2017.

Isabelle van Keulen has been a professor of violin, viola and chamber music at the Lucerne School of Music since autumn 2012. She plays a violin built by Joseph Guarnerius del Gesu (1734).

Foto: Marco Borggreve Foto: Marco Borggreve

Appearances at the
Beethovenfest 2017

Künstlerbiographien
Isabelle van Keulen

Von ihrer Heimat den Niederlanden aus erobert Isabelle van Keulen die ganze Welt – und dies auf Violine und Viola gleichermaßen! Sie ist auf den großen Konzertpodien zu Hause und durch ihre charismatische Ausstrahlung und musikalische Vielseitigkeit eine der gefragtesten Musikerinnen unserer Zeit.

Sie tritt regelmäßig mit bedeutenden Orchestern auf. Dazu zählen die Berliner Philharmoniker, das Koninklijk Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam, das Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, das Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, das NHK Symphony Orchestra Tokyo, das London Philharmonic Orchestra und das Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra. Auch in den USA ist sie regelmäßig zu Gast bei den führenden Orchestern. Dabei arbeitet sie mit Dirigenten wie Valery Gergiev, Philippe Herreweghe, Andris Nelsons, Roger Norrington, Hugh Wolff und David Zinman zusammen.

Als Artistic Director übernahm Isabelle van Keulen zwischen 2009 und 2012 die Leitung des Norwegian Chamber Orchestra. Neben zahlreichen Auftritten in Oslo führte sie das Orchester auf ausgedehnten Konzerttourneen durch Europa.

Auch die Kammermusik findet ihren Platz in Isabelle van Keulens Schaffen. Ihre festen Partner am Klavier sind Ronald Brautigam und Hannes Minnaar, mit dem eine Einspielung aller Beethoven-Violinsonaten (2014) vorliegt. Außerdem konzertiert sie mit der Mezzosopranistin Christiane Stotijn und der Klarinettistin Sharon Kam. Von 1997 bis 2006 war Isabelle van Keulen Künstlerische Leiterin des Delft Chamber Music Festival.

Isabelle van Keulens Repertoire umfasst zahlreiche Werke des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts u. a. von Komponisten wie Henri Dutilleux, John Adams, Sofia Gubaidulina, Colin Matthews, Lera Auerbach, Brett Dean und Erkki-Sven Tüür, dessen Violinkonzert sie einspielte. Im Frühjahr 2017 erscheint ihre neueste Aufnahme mit Beethovens Violinkonzert D-Dur op.61, den Romanzen für Violine und Orchester Nr. 1 und 2 und, gemeinsam mit dem Pianisten Stefan Vladar und dem Cellisten Julian Steckel, dem Triplekonzert op. 56.

Seit Herbst 2012 ist Isabelle van Keulen Professorin für Violine, Viola und Kammermusik an der Hochschule für Musik in Luzern. Sie spielt auf einer Violine von Joseph Guarnerius del Gesu (1734).

Foto: Marco Borggreve Foto: Marco Borggreve

Auftritte beim
Beethovenfest 2017