Artists biographies
Hermann Beil

Hermann Beil was born in Vienna. He has been involved in the theatre since 1963, first as dramaturge in Frankfurt/Main, Basel and Stuttgart; between 1979 and 1986 he worked in Bochum and between 1986 and 1999 at the Burgtheater in Vienna. Since 1999 he has worked as the dramaturge for the Berliner Ensemble. He was at the Salzburg Festival when Peter Stein directed. In addition he worked at the Zimmertheater Tübingen between 2002 and 2007.

Hermann Beil is a member of the Vienna-based Merlin Ensemble. In 1995 he was awarded the Berlin Theaterpreis together with Claus Peymann. In 1996 he was the first dramaturge to receive the Deutscher Kritikerpreis. Between 2009 and 2016 he was the president of the Deutsche Akademie der Darstellenden Künste, whose honorary president he was made on retirement from the post. Since 2014 he has been an honorary adviser to the Burgtheater.

As a reciter and director Hermann Beil gives guest performances in Austria and other countries, including the Festspiele Reichenau, with the Berliner Ensemble, at the Staatstheater Karlsruhe, the Landestheater Tübingen and at the Kurt Weill Festival in Dessau. His book ‘Theaternarren leben länger’ (‘theatre lovers live longer’) was published in its third edition by Paul Zsolnay Verlag in Vienna. It talks about the theatre, theatre lovers and theatre cakes. Thomas Bernhard and Péter Esterházy have both dedicated flash dramas to Hermann Beil.

Foto: Marcus Lieberenz Foto: Marcus Lieberenz

Appearances at the
Beethovenfest 2017

Künstlerbiographien
Hermann Beil

Hermann Beil, geboren in Wien, ist seit 1963 am Theater tätig: zuerst als Dramaturg in Frankfurt/Main, Basel und Stuttgart, von 1979 bis 1986 dann in Bochum und von 1986 bis 1999 am Burgtheater in Wien. Seit 1999 arbeitet er als Dramaturg am Berliner Ensemble. Bei den Salzburger Festspielen war er während der Schauspieldirektion von Peter Stein, außerdem wirkte er von 2002 bis 2007 am Zimmertheater Tübingen.

Hermann Beil ist Mitglied des Merlin Ensembles Wien. Zusammen mit Claus Peymann erhielt er 1995 den Berliner Theaterpreis und 1996 als erster Dramaturg den Deutschen Kritikerpreis. Von 2009 bis 2016 war er Präsident der Deutschen Akademie der Darstellenden Künste, zu dessen Ehrenpräsident er 2016 ernannt wurde. Seit 2014 ist er ehrenamtlicher Berater des Burgtheaters.

Als Rezitator und auch als Regisseur gastiert Hermann Beil im In- und Ausland, unter anderem bei den Festspielen Reichenau/Rax, beim Berliner Ensemble, am Staatstheater Karlsruhe, am Landestheater Tübingen und beim Kurt-Weill-Fest Dessau. Sein Buch »Theaternarren leben länger« erschien in der dritten Auflage im Paul Zsolnay Verlag Wien, es erzählt von Theater, Theaternarren und Theater-Torten. Thomas Bernhard und Péter Esterházy widmeten Hermann Beil Dramolette.

Foto: Marcus Lieberenz Foto: Marcus Lieberenz

Auftritte beim
Beethovenfest 2017