Artists biographies
Gerold Huber

Gerold Huber studied piano in Munich and attended Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau’s lied class. In 1998 he was awarded the Prix International Pro Musicis in Paris/New York together with baritone Christian Gerhaher, his duo partner since their joint schooldays. In 2001 he was a prize-winner at the Johann Sebastian Bach International Piano Competition in Saarbrücken.

As lied pianist he regularly appears at festivals such as Schubertiade Schwarzenberg, Schwetzingen Festival and Rheingau Musik Festival and major venues in Cologne, Frankfurt, Baden-Baden, Salzburg, Vienna, Amsterdam, London and New York.

Gerold Huber works with a multitude of internationally renowned singers, amongst them Christiane Karg, Christina Landshamer, Ruth Ziesak, Mojca Erdmann, Michael Nagy, Maximilian Schmitt and Franz-Josef Selig. Moreover he is the pianist of vocal ensemble Liedertafel, founded in 2002, which consists of Markus Schäfer, Christian Elsner, Michael Volle and Franz-Josef Selig. Gerold Huber also performs chamber music with Artemis Quartet, Henschel Quartet and with Reinhold Friedrich.

Gerold Huber’s activities as a soloist focus on the works of Bach, Beethoven, Brahms and Schubert. He has given recitals in Munich, Regensburg, at Théâtre Municipal des Romains in France, at Kultursommer Kassel Festival and New Zealand Festival in Wellington.

Apart from two solo albums with works by Beethoven and Schumann, he is most renowned for his outstanding recordings with baritone Christian Gerhaher which have all received many awards. His extensive discography includes CDs with Bernarda Fink, Ruth Ziesak, Maximilian Schmitt, Christina Landshamer and Franz-Josef Selig.

Gerold Huber gives master-classes and is professor for lied accompaniment at the Hochschule für Musik in Würzburg since 2013.

Foto: Marion Köll Foto: Marion Köll

Appearances at the
Beethovenfest 2017

Künstlerbiographien
Gerold Huber

Der Straubinger Gerold Huber studierte Klavier an der Hochschule in München und besuchte die Liedklasse von Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau. 1998 erhielt er mit Christian Gerhaher, mit dem er bereits in Schülertagen ein Lied-Duo bildete, den Prix International Pro Musicis in Paris/New York. 2001 war er Preisträger beim internationalen Klavierwettbewerb Johann Sebastian Bach in Saarbrücken.

Als Liedbegleiter ist er regelmäßig zu Gast bei Festivals wie der Schubertiade Schwarzenberg, den Salzburger Festspielen, den Münchner Opernfestspielen, bei den Schwetzinger Festspielen und dem Rheingau Musik Festival sowie in den großen Konzertsälen der Welt, unter anderem in Köln, Frankfurt, Baden-Baden, Salzburg, Wien, Amsterdam, London und New York.

Gerold Huber ist ein gefragter Begleiter und arbeitet mit zahlreichen Sänger zusammen, darunter Christiane Karg, Christina Landshamer, Ruth Ziesak, Mojca Erdmann, Michael Nagy, Maximilian Schmitt, Martin Mitterrutzner und Franz- Josef Selig. Zudem ist er Pianist der 2002 gegründeten Liedertafel bestehend aus Markus Schäfer, Christian Elsner, Michael Volle und Franz-Josef Selig. Als Kammermusikpartner konzertierte Gerold Huber mit dem Artemis-Quartett, dem Henschel-Quartett, Reinhold Friedrich und Matthias Hornung.

Solistisch widmet er sich Werken von Bach, Beethoven, Brahms und Schubert. Konzerte führten ihn unter anderem in die Münchner Residenz, ins Théâtre municipal de Romains nach Frankreich, zum Kultursommer Kassel und zum New Zealand Festival in Wellington.

Foto: Marion Köll Foto: Marion Köll

Auftritte beim
Beethovenfest 2017