Artists biographies
Ensemble Più

This quartet is particularly interested in pieces of music that are currently rarely performed in concerts, or that have even remained unprinted since their composition or have not been widely disseminated. The Ensemble Più focuses on authenticity in its renditions, which is why it has searched for appropriate rarities in the musical literature ever since its founding.

The ensemble’s repertoire, developed over the past 20 years, is the result of the members’ tireless thirst for discovery and hard work. It ranges from early classical works, via Isang Yun and Malcom Arnold, all the way to Frank Zabel and the American composer David Ludwig, and features the main compositions of all musical periods for instruments such as the oboe, the cor anglais, violin, viola and cello. In the case of two composers who are currently under-appreciated, the repertoire is particularly extensive: Louis Massonneau, a Frenchman born at the Kassel court of the Electors of Hesse (1766–1848) and the English composer Gordon Jacob (1895–1984).

In light of the international nature of music, the members of the Ensemble Più stand out through their shared regional and familial connection. All four of them live and work in the Ruhr. They are all orchestral musicians, some of them teach, and they are either related or have been friends for a long time: the violinist Eva Gosling (a member of the Essen Philharmonic until 2003) is married to the oboist and cor anglais player Andreas Gosling (the solo cor anglais player of the Essen Philharmonic since 1998); she is also the sister of Martin Börner (first viola with the Niederrheinische Sinfoniker since 1992), in whose family Markus Beul (cellist with the Dortmund Philharmonic since 1996) played music from his adolescence onwards.

In 1994 these four instrumentalists founded their quartet; two years later they gave their first concert in Sylt, a place they have regularly returned to since. In addition to several invitations to the Rhine-Ruhr region, including several to the Philharmonie Essen, they have also performed in Bamberg, Fürth, Eberbach, Arnstadt, Zarrentin Monastery, Friedrichsfelde Castle in Berlin, to name but a few of the venues.

Coupled with their supra-regional concert activities, the Ensemble Più has released two CDs under the audite label: in 2004 with three works by Gordon Jacob and in 2005 with three works by Louis Massonneau, the latter as an SACD.

Foto: Mario Perricone Foto: Mario Perricone

Appearances at the
Beethovenfest 2017

Künstlerbiographien
Ensemble Più

Im aktuellen Konzertbetrieb selten gespielte oder seit ihrer Komposition sogar ungedruckte und kaum verbreitete Musik interessiert dieses Quartett besonders. Das Ensemble Più setzt jedoch bei seiner Wiedergabe auf Authentizität und hat sich deshalb seit seiner Gründung auf die Suche nach einschlägigen Raritäten in der Musikliteratur begeben.

Aus Resultaten unermüdlicher Entdeckerlust und fleißiger Einstudierung setzt sich daher das seit nunmehr fast 20 Jahren kontinuierlich erarbeitete Repertoire zusammen. Es reicht von Werken der Frühklassik über Isang Yun oder Malcolm Arnold  bis hin zu Frank Zabel und dem amerikanischen Komponisten David Ludwig, schließt für Oboe oder Englischhorn, Geige, Bratsche und Cello komponierte Hauptwerke aller Musikepochen ein und ist im Fall zweier heute unterschätzter Komponisten besonders breit: Louis Massonneau, am Hof zu Kassel geborener Franzose (1766–1848), und Gordon Jacob, Brite (1895–1984).

Angesichts der Internationalität von Musik zeichnet eine gemeinsame regionale wie familiäre Verbundenheit die Mitglieder des Ensemble Più aus, die alle vier im Ruhrgebiet leben und wirken. Sie sind ausnahmslos Orchestermusiker, lehren teilweise und sind miteinander verwandt beziehungsweise lange Zeit befreundet: Die Geigerin Eva Gosling (bis 2003 Mitglied der Essener Philharmoniker) ist verheiratet mit dem Oboisten und Englischhornisten Andreas Gosling (seit 1998 Solo-Englischhornist der Essener Philharmoniker) und die Schwester von Martin Börner (seit 1992 Vorspieler der Bratschen der Niederrheinischen Sinfoniker), in deren Familie Markus Beul (seit 1996 Cellist der Dortmunder Philharmoniker) bereits als Jugendlicher musizierte.

1994 gründeten diese vier Instrumentalisten ihr Quartett und konzertierten zwei Jahre später erstmals auf Sylt, wo sie seitdem regelmäßig auftreten. Neben zahlreichen Einladungen an Rhein und Ruhr unter anderem mehrfach in der Philharmonie Essen traten sie auch in Bamberg, Fürth, Eberbach, Arnstadt, im Kloster Zarrentin, im Schloss Friedrichsfelde in Berlin u. a. auf.

Zusätzlich zur überregionalen Konzerttätigkeit brachte das Ensemble Più zwei CDs unter dem Label audite heraus: 2004 mit je drei Werken von Gordon Jacob und 2005 von Louis Massonneau, letztere als SACD.

Foto: Mario Perricone Foto: Mario Perricone

Auftritte beim
Beethovenfest 2017