Artists biographies
Alexander Krichel

Since winning the ’Newcomer of the Year’ ECHO Klassik award in 2013 for his first Sony Classical recital disc, German pianist Alexander Krichel has established himself as one of the most promising young pianists of today. His third album, featuring Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto, has been released in 2015 to great critical acclaim, and 2017 will see the release of a disc featuring works by Maurice Ravel.

Following his recent debut with the Bamberger Symphoniker under Jonathan Nott in 2014, Maestro Nott immediately invited him to make his Japanese debut with the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra last year. This season, Alexander makes his debut with the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra under Antonio Méndez, as well as with the Orchestra Ensemble Kanazawa and the Kyoto Symphony Orchestra. Current recitals include concerts in Dresden, Hamburg, Stuttgart, Mainz, Bremen, Kiel and Leverkusen. Recent solo performances have taken him to venues such as Konzerthaus and Philharmonie Berlin, Laeiszhalle Hamburg, Herkulessaal and Prinzregenten-theater Munich, Philharmonie Cologne, Tonhalle Zurich and Düsseldorf and the Konzerthaus in Vienna and to famous festivals.

Alexander is a keen chamber musician and regularly collaborates with French horn player Felix Klieser, with whom he tours Germany this season. Other chamber music partners include Albrecht Mayer, Klaus Florian Vogt, Gabriel Schwabe and Kirill Troussov.

Born in Hamburg in 1989, Alexander Krichel started to play the piano at the age of six and became a pre student at Hamburg University of Music and Drama at the age of 15. From 2007, he continued his studies with Vladimir Krainev at Hanover University of Music and Drama. He is currently studying with Dmitri Alexeev at Royal College of Music in London. From 2012 to 2015, Alexander was part of the stART programme for young artists at Bayer Kultur. He is also a scholarship holder of Oscar and Vera Ritter Foundation, Berenberg Bank Foundation, PE Förderungen and the Otto group.

Away from the piano, Alexander has a passion for mathematics, science and foreign languages. He promotes projects that encourage children's and teenagers' approach towards classical music and is very involved in hospice work in Hamburg. He lives in London and Hamburg.

Künstlerbiographien
Alexander Krichel

Seit er mit seiner beeindruckenden Debüt-CD zum »Nachwuchskünstler des Jahres« beim ECHO Klassik 2013 gekürt wurde, hat der deutsche Pianist Alexander Krichel sich als einer der vielversprechendsten jungen Pianisten der Gegenwart etabliert. Sein drittes Sony-Album, eine Einspielung von Rachmaninows zweitem Klavierkonzert, wurde 2015 veröffentlicht. Sein nächstes Projekt, eine Rezital-Aufnahme der wichtigsten Klavierwerke von Maurice Ravel, erscheint 2017.

Auf sein Debüt mit den Bamberger Symphonikern unter Jonathan Nott 2014 folgte unmittelbar die Einladung, sein Japan-Debüt mit dem Tokyo Symphony Orchestra zu machen. In der aktuellen Spielzeit debütiert Krichel mit dem hr-Sinfonieorchester, dem Orchestra Ensemble Kanazawa und dem Kyoto Symphony Orchestra. Klavierabende gibt er in Dresden, Hamburg, Stuttgart, Mainz, Bremen, Kiel und Leverkusen. Als Solokünstler trat er zuletzt u. a. im Konzerthaus und der Philharmonie in Berlin, der Laeiszhalle Hamburg, im Herkulessaal und Prinzregententheater München, in der Kölner Philharmonie, den Tonhallen in Zürich und Düsseldorf sowie im Wiener Konzerthaus auf und gastierte bei zahlreichen Festivals.

Als leidenschaftlicher Kammermusiker tritt Krichel regelmäßig mit den Hornisten Felix Klieser auf. Ein neues Programm führt die beiden diese Saison auf Tournee durch Deutschland. Zu weiteren Kammermusikpartnern zählen Albrecht Mayer, Gabriel Schwabe und Kirill Troussov.

Der gebürtige Hamburger begann sein Klavierspiel im Alter von sechs Jahren und wurde mit fünfzehn Vorstudent an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hamburg. 2007 setzte er seine Studien mit Vladimir Krainev an der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien fort. Heute studiert er bei Dmitri Alexeev am Royal College of Music in London. Von 2012 bis 2015 war Krichel Künstler des stART Förderprogramms von Bayer Kultur. Er ist außerdem Stipendiat der Oscar und Vera Ritter Stiftung, der Berenberg Bank Stiftung, PE Förderungen und der Otto Group.

Abseits des Klaviers begeistert sich Alexander Krichel für Mathematik, Naturwissenschaften und Fremdsprachen. Er engagiert sich in Projekten, die Kindern und Jugendlichen Zugang zur klassischen Musik verschaffen und setzt sich in der Hospizarbeit in Hamburg ein. Er lebt in London und Hamburg.