Artists biographies
ZOO/Thomas Hauert

Having built a dancer career with a. o. Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, David Zambrano and Pierre Droulers, Swiss Thomas Hauert founded his company ZOO in Brussels. In 1998, he initiated ‘Cows in Space’, a piece for five dancers which was consequently awarded at the Rencontres de Seine-Saint-Denis. Since then, he has created more than 15 performances with ZOO: ‘a.o.Jetzt’ (2000), ‘Modify’ (2004, Swiss Dance Prize 2005), ‘Walking Oscar’ (2006), ‘Accords’ (2008), ‘Like me more like me’ (with Scott Heron, 2011), the piece for young audience ‘Danse étoffée sur musique déguisée’ (2012), ‘Mono’ (2013), the solo ‘(sweet) (bitter)’ in 2015 and his last group creation ‘inaudible’ (2016).

In 2010, director Thierry De Mey also took an excerpt from ‘Accords’ as a base to create the film ‘La Valse’, co-produced by European television channel Arte. In addition to his work for ZOO, Thomas Hauert was also commissioned to create ‘Hà Mais’ (2002) with Mozambican dancers, as well as several pieces for the school P.A.R.T.S in Brussels. In 2010, he created a new work for the Zurich Ballet, ‘Il Giornale della necropoli’, in 2014 the piece ‘Notturnino’ for the British company of disabled and non-disabled dancers Candoco Dance Company and in 2015 ‘The Measure of Disorder’ for the Barcelona based collective La Bolsa.

Presented on more than 200 stages in 29 countries, the work of Thomas Hauert first develops from research on movement, with a particular interest in improvisation-based processes exploring the tension between freedom and constraint, individuals and the group, order and disorder, form and formlessness. Regularly invited to participate in improvisation events, he also has a deep interest in the relationship between dance and music.

Thomas teaches regularly at P.A.R.T.S. and was Valeska-Gert-guest professor at the Freie Universität Berlin during the winter 2012-13. He was also invited to collaborate in The Forsythe Company’s ‘Motion Bank’ project (ongoing). Since 2013, Thomas Hauert is the academic director of the bachelor degree in contemporary dance opened within the theatre academy La Manufacture in Lausanne.

Thomas Hauert © Thibault Grégoire Thomas Hauert © Thibault Grégoire

Appearances at the
Beethovenfest 2017

Künstlerbiographien
ZOO/Thomas Hauert

Geboren in der Schweiz, wurde Thomas Hauert an der Rotterdamse Dansacademie ausgebildet. Er tanzte u. a. in der Kompanie ROSAS von Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker sowie mit David Zambrano und Pierre Droulers, bevor er 1997 in Brüssel seine eigene Kompanie ZOO gründete. Für »Cows in Space« erhielt er bereits 1998 den Autorenpreis sowie den Jan Fabre Preis bei den Rencontres chorégraphiques internationales de Seine-Saint-Denis. Seitdem hat er mehr als 15 Aufführungen mit ZOO aufgeführt: »a.o.Jetzt« (2000), »Verosimile« (2002), »Modify« (2004, Swiss Dance Prize 2005), »Walking Oscar« (2006), »Accords« (2008), »You’ve Changed« (2010), »From B to B« (mit Àngels Margarit, 2011), »Like me more like me« (mit Scott Heron, 2011), das Stück für junge Zuschauer »Danse étoffée sur musique déguisée« (2012), »Mono« (2013), das Solo »(sweet) (bitter)« 2015 und sein letztes Gruppenstück »inaudible« (2016).

2010 nahm der Filmemacher Thierry De Mey einen Auszug aus »Accords« als Grundlage für seinen Film »La Valse«, Koproduktion mit Arte. Neben seinem Werk für ZOO erhielt Thomas Hauert weitere Aufträge, u.  a. »Hà Mais« (2002) mit Mozambikanischen Tänzers und Stücke für P.A.R.T.S in Brüssel. 2010 entwarf er ein neues Werk für das Ballett Zürich, »Il Giornale della necropolis«, 2013 »Pond Skaters« für das Toronto Dance Theatre, 2014 das Stück »Notturnino« für die britische Company für behinderte und nicht-behinderte Tänzer Candoco Dance Company und 2015 »The Measure of Disorder« für das in Barcelona beheimatete Kollektiv La Bolsa.

Thomas Hauerts Werk, das bereits auf mehr als 200 Bühnen in 29 Ländern präsentiert wurde, entsteht aus der Erforschung von Bewegung, mit einem besonderen Interesse an Improvisations-basierten Prozessen, die die Spannung zwischen Freiheit und constraint, Individuen und der Gruppe, Ordnung und Unordnung sowie Form und Formlosigkeit ausloten. Thomas Hauert, der regelmäßig auch bei Improvisationen mitwirkt, hat außerdem großes Interesse an dem Verhältnis von Tanz und Musik.

Thomas Hauert © Thibault Grégoire Thomas Hauert © Thibault Grégoire

Auftritte beim
Beethovenfest 2017