Artists biographies
Marino Formenti

With his extraordinary combination of intellect and emotion, Marino Formenti is among the most outstanding musical personalities of our time. Lauded as the ‘Glenn Gould for the 21st Century’ by the Los Angeles Times, he first made his name in the field of contemporary music.

Marino Formenti’s fondness for new and unexpected relationships allows the development of exceptionally creative projects which experiment with the concert form. In ‘Nowhere’, Marino Formenti plays, sleeps and eats in an accessible, private yet public space, with the desire ‘to disappear further and further into the music’. In ‘The Song Project’, premiered in New York’s Poisson Rouge in 2010, he confronts works by Berhnard Lang and Luciano Berio with songs by Nirvana and Coldplay.

Concert invitations have taken Formenti to festivals in Salzburg, Lucerne, Edinburgh, Schleswig-Holstein, Aspen and Ravinia, as well as to major concert halls across the world. From 2013 to 2016 Marino Fomenti presented his own cycle in the Wigmore Hall, London.

As soloist, Marino Formenti  has performed with the New York Philharmonic, the Munich Philharmonic, the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra, the Gustav Mahler Chamber Orchestra, the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, and with conductors such as Franz Welser-Möst, Kent Nagano, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Gustavo Dudamel and Daniel Harding. He has also worked with such artists as Gidon Kremer, Ulrich Matthes and Maurizio Pollini.

In his career as conductor, Marino Formenti began as assistant to Kent Nagano and Sylvain Cambreling. He has taken the conductor’s rostrum at the Teatro alla Scala, the Vienna Festival and Wien Modern, the Vienna Musikverein and the Vienna Konzerthaus, the Berlin Konzerthaus, in Paris, Rome, Milan, Oslo, Ljubljana, Los Angeles, Johannesburg and Tokyo.

Marino Formenti works with some of the greatest living composers, including Friedrich Cerha, Olga Neuwirth, Helmut Lachenmann, György Kurtág and Salvatore Sciarrino.

Marino Formenti was the winner of the 2009 Belmont Prize for contemporary music, awarded by the Forberg-Schneider Foundation in Munich.

Künstlerbiographien
Marino Formenti

Marino Formenti zählt mit seiner außergewöhnlichen Kombination von Intellekt und Emotionalität zu den herausragenden Musikerpersönlichkeiten unserer Zeit. Von der Los Angeles Times als »Glenn Gould for the 21st Century« gepriesen, hat er sich zuerst im Bereich der zeitgenössischen Musik einen Namen gemacht.

 

Marino Formentis Vorliebe für neue, unerwartete Zusammenhänge lässt außergewöhnlich kreative Projekte entstehen, die mit der Konzertform experimentieren. In »Nowhere« spielt, schläft und isst Marino Formenti in einem zugänglichen, zugleich privaten und öffentlichen Raum, mit dem Wunsch, »in die Musik nach und nach zu verschwinden«. In »The Song Project«, 2010 im New Yorker Poisson Rouge uraufgeführt, stellt er Poplieder von Nirvana und Coldplay Werke von Bernhard Lang und Luciano Berio gegenüber.

 

Konzerteinladungen führten Formenti zu den Festivals in Salzburg, Luzern, Edinburgh, Schleswig-Holstein, Aspen und Ravinia sowie in die großen Konzerthäuser weltweit. Von 2013 bis 2016 präsentierte Marino Formenti einen eigenen Zyklus in der Wigmore Hall London.

 

Als Solist konzertierte Marino Formenti mit den New York Philharmonic, Münchner Philharmonikern, dem Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra, dem Gustav Mahler Chamber Orchestra, dem Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, und mit Dirigenten wie Franz Welser-Möst, Kent Nagano, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Gustavo Dudamel, Daniel Harding u. a. Er arbeitete außerdem mit Künstlern wie Gidon Kremer, Ulrich Matthes und Maurizio Pollini zusammen.

 

In seiner Laufbahn als Dirigent war Marino Formenti zunächst Assistent von Kent Nagano und Sylvain Cambreling. Selbst am Pult stand er im Teatro alla Scala, für die Wiener Festwochen und Wien Modern, im Wiener Musikverein und Wiener Konzerthaus, im Berliner Konzerthaus, in Paris, Rom, Mailand, Oslo, Ljubljana, Los Angeles, Johannesburg und Tokio.

 

Marino Formenti arbeitet mit einigen der größten lebenden Komponisten zusammen, wie Friedrich Cerha, Olga Neuwirth, Helmut Lachenmann, György Kurtág, Salvatore Sciarrino u. a.

 

Marino Formenti ist Träger des Belmont-Preises 2009 für zeitgenössische Musik der Forberg-Schneider-Stiftung in München.