Artists biographies
Angela Winkler

Angela Winkler was born in Templin in Brandenburg. Between 1971 and 1978 she was a member of the Berliner Schaubühne, where she performed in productions by Peter Stein and Luc Bondy. She has been working freelance in 1980, regularly with significant directors such as Robert Wilson (The Winter’s Tale, 2005; The Threepenny Opera, 2007; Lulu, 2011) and Peter Zadek. Her career in film began in 1968. Among other parts she played the lead in The Lost Honour of Katharina Blum and Oscar’s mother in The Tin Drum (director: Volker Schlöndorff).

For her performances in The Cherry Orchard at the Akademietheater in Vienna and in Hamlet at the Wiener Festwochen she was twice selected as the ‘actress of the year’. In 2000 she received the Gertrud Eysold Ring for her portrayal of Rebecca West in Ibsen’s Rosmersholm (all directed by Peter Zadek) at the Akademietheater.

Most recently she was on camera with Juliette Binoche for the film ‘Sils Maria’, and she featured in Altersglühen for German TV, directed by Jan-Georg Schütte; in addition she was in the TV comedy ‘Das Gewinnerlos’ with Matthias Habich, for which she was awarded the prize for best supporting actress.

On stage it has been possible to admire Angela Winkler in The Threepenny Opera at the Berliner Ensemble for years. Furthermore, she only recently appeared in a premiere at the Schauspielhaus Hamburg, namely the new production of Peer Gynt, directed by Simon Stone.

Appearances at the
Beethovenfest 2017

Künstlerbiographien
Angela Winkler

Angela Winkler, geboren in Templin, von 1971 bis 1978 Mitglied der Berliner Schaubühne, spielte dort in Inszenierungen von Peter Stein und Luc Bondy. Seit 1980 arbeitet sie frei und immer wieder mit bedeutenden Regisseuren wie Robert Wilson (»Ein Wintermärchen«, 2005; »Die Dreigroschenoper«, 2007; »Lulu«, 2011) oder Peter Zadek zusammen. Ihre Filmkarriere beginnt 1968, unter anderem spielt sie die Hauptrolle in »Die verlorene Ehre der Katharina Blum« und Oscars Mutter in »Die Blechtrommel« (Regie: Volker Schlöndorff).

Für ihre Darstellungen in »Der Kirschgarten« am Akademietheater Wien und in »Hamlet« bei den Wiener Festwochen wird sie zweimal zur »Schauspielerin des Jahres« gewählt. 2000 erhält sie für ihre Darstellung der Rebekka West in Ibsens Rosmersholm (alles Regie: Peter Zadek) am Akademietheater Wien den Gertrud-Eysold-Ring.

Kürzlich stand sie mit Juliette Binoche für den Film »Sils Maria« vor der Kamera und drehte für die ARD »Altersglühen« unter der Regie von Jan-Georg Schütte sowie die TV Komödie »Das Gewinnerlos« mit Matthias Habich, in dem sie zur besten Nebendarstellerin ausgezeichnet wurde.

Auf der Bühne kann man Angela Winkler seit Jahren in der »Dreigroschenoper“ am Berliner Ensemble bewundern, außerdem hatte sie erst kürzlich am Schauspielhaus Hamburg in der Neuinszenierung »Per Gynt“ unter der Regie von Simon Stone Premiere.

Auftritte beim
Beethovenfest 2017