Background history

The first Beethovenfest to mark the 75th anniversary of Beethoven’s birth

The tradition of the Beethovenfest Bonn stretches back to 1845, when a three-day music festival was held on the occasion of the dedication of the Beethoven Monument on the city’s Münsterplatz to mark the 75th anniversary of the composer’s birth. Both Franz Liszt and Louis Spohr conducted, and international guests in the audiences included King Frederick William IV of Prussia, Queen Victoria of Great Britain, the explorer Alexander von Humboldt and the composer Hector Berlioz. In a record time of just eleven days, a first Beethovenhalle was built to provide an appropriate venue for this first Beethoven celebration. The timber hall was demolished soon after the festival as a potential fire-risk.

 

Beethoven Festivals to mark the centenaries of Beethoven’s birth and death

The second Beethovenfest was planned for the composer’s centenary in 1870, but because of the Franco-Prussian War, it was postponed until the following year, when it was held in a newly built Beethovenhalle. Then the “Verein Beethoven-Haus” (Beethoven Birthplace Association, formed in 1889) initiated chamber-music festivals in 1890 and 1893. Led by the famous violinist Josef Joachim, the association celebrated the acquisition of Beethoven’s birthplace with the 1890 festival, and in 1893, the opening of the Beethoven Memorial in the building. 1894 witnessed a larger Beethovenfest: for the first time, all nine Beethoven symphonies were performed.
In 1927, under the joint patronage of the German and Austrian presidents, a “Deutsches Beethovenfest Bonn 1927” was held to commemorate the centenary of Beethoven’s death.

 

Start of the regular Beethoven festivals in Bonn

The modern-style Beethoven festivals in Bonn were initiated by the pianist Elly Ney. They began in 1931 with three “volkstümliche” Beethoven Days in Bonn. The word “volkstümlich” means “popular”; the concept is explicitly non-elitist. The chamber-music festivals organized by the Verein Beethoven-Haus, held annually from 1934 until the end of the war in 1945, were increasingly integrated into the Beethoven Festivals, which were devoted to orchestral and choral music but used as a propaganda vehicle by the Nazis. It was largely on the fame of the chamber-music festivals, initiated by Joseph Joachim, that the importance of Bonn as Beethoven’s city rested in the first half of the 20th century.

 

The post-war period

The end of the war marked a new beginning. The city became the sponsor of the event, and artistic responsibility was transferred to the incumbent General Musical Director. In 1947 the city council resolved to hold the Beethovenfest and the chamber-music festival in alternate years. As early as 1959, it was possible to move out of the various temporary venues into the new Beethovenhalle, and the festival became, definitively, an autumn event. Top performers appeared at two or three-yearly intervals: conductors such as Böhm, Karajan, Bernstein and ensembles from all over the world found a musical tryst in Bonn. From 1974 the Beethovenfest was held every three year and devoted itself increasingly to a confrontation or comparison between Beethoven’s works and contemporary music.

 

The new beginning

A stretched budget forced the city of Bonn to cancel its grant to the 1995 festival. Thereupon an association initiated by Bonn citizens, “Bürger für Beethoven” (Citizens for Beethoven), which is still in existence, organized a “Beethoven-Marathon”, which was held three times, lastly in 1998.
The formation in 1998of a non-profit limited company, the Internationale Beethovenfeste Bonn gGmbH, created a sponsor and organizer of an annual Beethovenfest Bonn which attracts world-famous performers and highly talented new blood to the city. Characteristic of the festival, alongside the outstanding performers, are the themes which are always derived from Beethoven’s life and work, and the variety of venues. These range from historic to modern concert-halls, from the Beethoven-Haus and the Beethovenhalle to the Altes Wasserwerk (the “Old Waterworks”, which was also the final home of the German parliament before it moved to Berlin), from the venerable Bonn Minster to the T-Mobile Forum.
Franz Willnauer was the Intendant (Director General) of the Beethovenfest Bonn from 1999 to 2003. He was succeeded in Januar 2004 by Ilona Schmiel. Born in 1967, and a concert manager by profession, she had previously been in charge of the Bremen concert hall “Die Glocke”.
From January 2014 on Dr. Nike Wagner has taken over as artistic and managing director.

Beethoven monument in front of Postamt © Michael Sondermann

Historie

Das erste Beethovenfest zum 75. Geburtstag Beethovens

Die Tradition des Beethovenfestes Bonn reicht zurück bis in das Jahr 1845, als zur Einweihung des Beethoven-Denkmals auf dem Münsterplatz anlässlich des 75. Geburtstags des Komponisten ein dreitägiges Musikfest stattfand. Sowohl Franz Liszt als auch Louis Spohr dirigierten, im Publikum gehörten zu den internationalen Gästen König Friedrich Wilhelm IV. von Preußen, die englische Königin Victoria, Alexander von Humboldt und Hector Berlioz. In der Rekordzeit von nur elf Tagen war eine erste Beethovenhalle erbaut worden, die dieser Beethovenfeier von 1845 den angemessenen Rahmen bot. Die aus Holz hergestellte Halle wurde im Anschluss an das Musikfest wegen Feuergefahr wieder abgerissen.

 

Beethovenfeste zum 100. Geburtstag und 100. Todestag Beethovens

Das zweite Beethovenfest wurde zum 100. Geburtstag des Komponisten geplant: wegen des Deutsch-Französischen Krieges fand es jedoch nicht 1870, sondern ein Jahr später in einer neu erbauten Beethovenhalle statt. Ein 1889 gegründeter Verein Beethoven-Haus initiierte die beiden folgenden Kammermusikfeste von 1890 und 1893. Unter Leitung und Mitwirkung des berühmten Geigers Josef Joachim feierte der Verein mit dem Fest 1890 den Erwerb des Geburtshauses von Beethoven und 1893 die Eröffnung der Beethoven-Gedenkstätte in dem Haus. 1894 fand wiederum ein größeres Beethovenfest statt: erstmals wurden alle neun Beethoven-Symphonien aufgeführt.
1927 gedachte man mit dem »Deutschen Beethovenfest Bonn 1927« unter der gemeinsamen Schirmherrschaft des deutschen Reichspräsidenten und des österreichischen Bundespräsidenten des 100. Todestages Beethovens.

 

Beginn der Reihe der regelmäßigen Bonner Beethovenfeste

Die Bonner Beethovenfeste moderner Prägung, von der Pianistin Elly Ney begründet, begannen 1931 mit drei »volkstümlichen Beethoventagen in Bonn«. Die Kammermusikfeste vom Verein Beethoven-Haus wurden von 1934 bis zum Kriegsende 1945 zeitlich und organisatorisch in die immer mehr durch die Nationalsozialisten vereinnahmten, der Orchester- und Chormusik gewidmeten Beethovenfeste integriert. Vornehmlich auf dem Ruhm dieser von Joseph Joachim ins Leben gerufenen Kammermusikfeste gründet sich die Bedeutung der Beethoven-Stadt Bonn in der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts.

 

Nach Kriegsende

Nach Kriegsende wurde ein Neubeginn gesetzt, mit der Stadt als Trägerin und der Übertragung der künstlerischen Verantwortung an den jeweiligen Generalmusikdirektor. 1947 beschloss die Stadt Bonn, das Beethovenfest und das Kammermusikfest des Vereins Beethoven-Haus alternierend im Zweijahresrhythmus stattfinden zu lassen. Schon 1959 konnte man aus verschiedenen Provisorien in die neue Beethovenhalle übersiedeln, das Fest wanderte endgültig in den Herbst des Jahres. Im Zwei- oder Drei-Jahres-Rhythmus kam es zu Aufführungen mit Spitzeninterpreten: Dirigenten wie Böhm, Karajan, Bernstein und Ensembles aus der ganzen Welt gaben sich in Bonn ein musikalisches Stelldichein. Ab 1974 fand das Beethovenfest alle drei Jahre statt und widmete sich inhaltlich zunehmend der Gegenüberstellung der Werke Beethovens mit zeitgenössischer Musik.

 

Der Neuanfang

Eine angespannte Haushaltslage zwang die Stadt Bonn, den Zuschuss für das Fest 1995 zu streichen. Ein von Bonner Bürgern initiierter Verein, die bis heute existierenden »Bürger für Beethoven« organisierte daraufhin einen »Beethoven-Marathon«, der dreimal - zuletzt 1998 - stattfand.
Mit der Gründung der Internationalen Beethovenfeste Bonn gGmbH entstand 1998 ein Träger und Veranstalter für ein alljährliches Beethovenfest Bonn, bei dem weltberühmte Interpreten und junge, hochtalentierte Musiker in Bonn zu Gast sind. Charakteristikum des Festivals sind neben den herausragenden Interpreten die thematischen Leitlinien, die sich immer aus Beethoven Leben und Œuvre ableiten, sowie die Vielfalt der Spielstätten. Diese reicht von historischen bis zu modernen Sälen, vom Beethoven-Haus und der Beethovenhalle bis zum Alten Wasserwerk, von der ehrwürdigen Bonner Münsterbasilika bis zum T-Mobile Forum.
Franz Willnauer übernahm die Intendanz für die Beethovenfeste Bonn 1999 bis 2003. Seine Nachfolgerin ist seit Januar 2004 Ilona Schmiel. Die 1967 geborene Kulturmanagerin leitete zuvor das Bremer Konzerthaus »Die Glocke«.
Seit Januar 2014 ist Dr. Nike Wagner Intendantin und Geschäftsführerin des Beethovenfestes Bonn.

Beethoven-Denkmal Postamt © Michael Sondermann