Beethoven Orchester Bonn

Beethoven Orchester Bonn © Thilo Beu

The municipal orchestra of Bonn was founded in 1907, in 2003 it was given its name Beethoven Orchester Bonn. The orchestra of the city of Bonn has worked with many important composers and guest conductors. In the year it was founded, Richard Strauss conducted his own works for the first time. Max Reger, Siegfried Wagner and Max Bruch have also conducted the orchestra, as have Paul Hindemith, Hans Pfitzner, Erich Kleiber, Karl Böhm, Rudolf Kempe, Sergiu Celibidache and Günter Wand. Following Dennis Russell Davies, Marc Soustrot and Roman Kofman, Stefan Blunier, as the Chief Musical Director of the City of Bonn, took on the post of Principal Conductor in the 2008/2009 season, being the Chief Musical Director of the Beethoven Orchester Bonn and the Music Theatre. in 2011 Blunier's contract was renewed until the end of season 2015/2016.

Next to opera- and concert-performances (about 40 concerts and 120 opera performances each season) the Bobbys Klassik programme was established. This was awarded the ECHO Klassik music award in 2009 and 2011. Also the CD-releases by Beethoven Orchester Bonn got prizes: Three CDs with Stefan Blunier were awarded the ECHO Klassik music award, the recording of the opera "Irrelohe" by Franz Schreker got the "Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik".

The opening concert of each season of the Beethoven Orchester Bonn takes place during the Beethovenfest Bonn. The Beethoven Orchester Bonn also takes on the orchestral role in cooperations and co-productions of the Beethovenfest Bonn with the Theater Bonn.

Beethoven Orchester Bonn

Beethoven Orchester Bonn © Thilo Beu

Das städtische Orchester besteht seit 1907, seit 2003 trägt es den Namen Beethoven Orchester Bonn. Das Orchester der Stadt Bonn hat mit vielen bedeutenden Komponisten und Gastdirigenten zusammen gearbeitet. Schon im Gründungsjahr dirigierte Richard Strauss erstmals eigene Werke. Auch Max Reger, Siegfried Wagner und Max Bruch leiteten das Orchester, ebenso wie Paul Hindemith, Hans Pfitzner, Erich Kleiber, Karl Böhm, Rudolf Kempe, Sergiu Celibidache und Günter Wand. Nach Dennis Russell Davies, Marc Soustrot und Roman Kofman übernahm mit der Saison 2008/2009 Stefan Blunier als Generalmusikdirektor der Bundesstadt Bonn das Amt des Chefdirigenten des Beethoven-Orchesters Bonn und des Musiktheaters. 2011 wurde Stefan Bluniers Vertrag als Generalmusikdirektor in Bonn bis zum Ende der Spielzeit 2015/2016 verlängert.

Neben der Opern- und Konzerttätigkeit (ca. 40 Konzerte und 120 Opernaufführungen pro Saison) bildet die Kinder- und Jugendarbeit unter dem Titel »Bobbys Klassik« einen wichtigen Schwerpunkt. 2009 und 2011 wurde das erfolgreiche Education-Programm jeweils mit einem ECHO Klassik-Preis ausgezeichnet. Auch die CD-Einspielungen des Beethoven Orchester Bonn werden prämiert: Drei Einspielungen mit Stefan Blunier erhielten einen ECHO Klassik, die Aufnahme der Oper »Irrelohe« von Franz Schreker wurde mit dem »Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik« ausgezeichnet.

Während des Beethovenfestes Bonn findet jeweils das Eröffnungskonzert der Spielzeit des Beethoven Orchester Bonns statt. Auch bei Kooperationen und Koproduktionen des Beethovenfestes Bonn mit dem Theater Bonn übernimmt das Beethoven Orchester Bonn den Orchesterpart.