Artists biographies
Evgeny Nikitin

Evgeny Nikitin hails from Murmansk. His first love was to compose, sing and play drums and guitar in heavy metal bands, but his vocal gift took him in a different direction. He was accepted at the Saint Petersburg Conservatory in 1992 and was soon combining his studies with his first solo engagements at the Mariinsky Theatre under Valery Gergiev’s direction. It was not long before he was invited to major theatres and festivals through Europe, the Americas and Asia.

2002 marked his debut at the Metropolitan Opera in ‘War and Peace’. Nikitin made his Parisian debut in the title role of Rubinstein’s ‘The Demon’ and returned in 2005 to sing the title role of ‘Boris Godunov’. He made his debut at the Bayerische Staatsoper in 2008 as Jochanaan and he appears there regularly in roles such as Klingsor and Telramund. 2015/16 saw his Vienna Staatsoper debut in ‘Fidelio’ and his debut with the Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam.

Recent engagements include ‘Don Carlos’ in Baden-Baden, ‘Der fliegende Holländer’ in Toronto, Paris, Leipzig, Baden-Baden and Tokyo, ‘Parsifal’ in Berlin and Valencia, Fidelio in Valencia, ‘Salome’ in Zurich, ‘Lohengrin’ in Amsterdam, ‘Tosca’ in Chicago and ‘Boris Godunov’ in an acclaimed production at the Mariinsky Theatre. Major festival appearances include Aix-en-Provence, BBC Proms, Salzburg and Verbier. Concert performances include Mussorgsky’s ‘Songs and Dances of Death’ at the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival and at the Berlin Philharmonic, Mahler’s eighths Symphony, ‘Oedipus Rex’ with Münchner Philharmoniker, and Verdi’s Requiem with National Symphony Orchestra Washington.

The coming season Evgeny Nikitin returns to the Metropolitan Opera for a new production of ‘Tristan und Isolde’, to Madrid for a new production of ‘Der fliegende Holländer’, to Amsterdam to sing Jochanaan in ‘Salome’ and to Baden-Baden for Tosca.

His recordings include ‘Parsifal’ with the Valery Gergiev and again with the Berlin Radio Symphony and Marek Janowski as well as Mussorgsky’s ‘Boris Godunov’ and Prokofiev’s ‘Semyon Kotko’.

Evgeny Nikitin © Bob Grün Evgeny Nikitin © Bob Grün

Appearances at the
Beethovenfest 2013

Künstlerbiographien
Evgeny Nikitin

Evgeny Nikitin stammt aus Murmansk. Zunächst wirkte er als Komponist, Sänger, Gitarrist und Schlagzeuger in Heavy-Metal-Bands, aber sein Stimmtalent führte ihn in eine andere Richtung. 1992 wurde er am Sankt Petersburger Konservatorium aufgenommen und kombinierte seine Studien schon bald mit ersten Auftritten am Mariinski-Theater unter der Leitung von Valery Gergiev. Rasch folgten Einladungen auf die führenden Bühnen und Festivals in Europa, Amerika und Asien.

2002 gab Evgeny Nikitin in »War and Peace« sein Debüt an der Metropolitan Opera. Es folgte das Paris-Debüt mit der Titelrolle in Rubinsteins »Der Dämon«, 2005 die Titelrolle in »Boris Godunow«. Das Debüt an der Bayerischen Staatsoper München erfolgte 2008 als Jochanaan, und anschließend regelmäßige Auftritte in Rollen wie Klingsor und Telramund. Die Spielzeit 2015/16 brachte die Debüts an der Wiener Staatsoper in »Fidelio« und beim Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam.

Zu den jüngsten Engagements zählen zudem »Don Carlos« in Baden-Baden, »Der fliegende Holländer« in Toronto, Paris, Leipzig, Baden-Baden und Tokio, »Parsifal« in Berlin und Valencia, »Fidelio« in Valencia, »Salome« in Zürich, »Lohengrin« in Amsterdam, »Tosca« in Chicago und »Boris Godunow« in einer gefeierten Produktion am Mariinski-Theater. Festivalauftitte führten Nikitin nach Aix-en-Provence, Salzburg, Verbier und zu den BBC Proms. Nikitins Konzertrepertoire umfasst Mussorgskis »Lieder und Tänze des Todes« beim Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival und an der Berlin Philharmonie, Mahlers achte Symphonie, »Oedipus Rex« mit den Münchner Philharmonikern und Verdis Requiem in Washington.

In der kommenden Spielzeit wird Evgeny Nikitin für eine Neuproduktion von »Tristan« und Isolde an die Metropolitan Opera und für einen neuen »Fliegenden Holländer« nach Madrid zurückkehren. Zudem wird er in Amsterdam in »Salome« und Baden-Baden in »Tosca« zu hören seien.

Aufgenommen hat Nikitin den »Parsifal« mit Valery Gergiev und mit dem Berliner Radiosinfonieorchester unter Marek Janowski, ferner Mussorgskis »Boris Godunow« und Prokofiews »Semyon Kotko«.

Evgeny Nikitin © Bob Grün Evgeny Nikitin © Bob Grün

Auftritte beim
Beethovenfest 2013